Another Divisional Strike – For Bateman

Calgary’s Roger Bateman continued his very hot hand in 2011 NHRA Divisional TAFC class racing….

The wily veteran Canadian racer wheeled the potent Y-Not Racing machine owned byColorado’s Jim and Annie Whitely to victory lane during last weekend’s NHRA Lucas Oil Divisional race held at Thunder Valley Raceway, Noble Oklahoma. 

Bateman defeated Iowa’s Vern Moats in a classic pairing of Ford Mustangs in the final round.  Bateman clocked in at a winning 5.695 secs 253.02 mph which edged out Moats’ 5.728 secs at 251.60 mph.

Roger Bateman remains Canada's most successful TAFC driver

Bateman, who qualified #1 for the 8-car TAFC field (5.701 secs) beat Steve Griboski and Clint Thompson in earlier competition.  Roger was also credited with low ET and top speed for the Division Four season finale – hitting a swift 5.639 secs at 254.38 mph during round one.

For Roger and Y-Not Racing team it was in fact their third win on the NHRA Lucas Oil Divisional trail this season, complimenting two event wins last June at Tulsa OK and Denver CO.

The win has put Bateman solidly into first place for yet another very probable career NHRA Divisional title.   Roger, who is the defending 2010 LODRS Division 5 Champion, leads Kirk Williams by 42 points following 8 of a possible 10 claimed races.

Roger is also on track for a potential best ever finish in NHRA LODRS World Championship standings.  His current 557 points total sits 3rd overall behind only Frank Manzo and Tony Bartone.

(Bruce Biegler Photo)