Doorslammer Drama  from Western Australia 

John Zappia has seized the points lead for the ANDRA Pro Series Top Doorslammer championship with a close win over Robin Judd during the 41st Western Nationals held at Perth Motorplex…..

Zappia’s final round run of 5.866 secs at 245.90 mph driving the feared ProComp Motorsport ‘71 Monaro was  just enough to edge the 5.878 secs 249.30 mph run by Judd in the all Western Australian state showdown.

Zappia, who qualified second, defeated Ben Bray’s Sidchrome Monaro in the first round although that win came as a cost as he needed to put his spare engine in after damaging cylinder and part of the engine block.

Ferocious Top Doorslammer driver John Zappia has assumed the ANDRA Championship points lead

After thrashing to make the repairs Zappia emerged in the semi finals to take out Ben’s father Victor Bray, with a more cautious tune up put in to ensure the engine would live through to the final.

Judd had qualified #1 for the swift 8-car field with a run of 5.861 secs at 250 mph flat – that run held up for both low ET and top speed for the class during the event.

Peter Kapiris, the points leader going into the event, went out in the first round after making contact with the safety barriers driving his outrageous ’58 Dodge Saratoga.  That development opened the door for Zappia or Judd to take over the lead if they went to the final.

In Pro Stock Denis Whiting emerged as a new threat to the ANDRA Pro Series championship, after he took a big win driving his spectacular Holden VZ Monaro.  Whiting took a final round win against Tyronne Tremayne.

Whiting’s win was impressive as he also qualified #1 and set new ANDRA national records for both time and speed, running as quick as 7.022 secs and 195.22 mph over the famous Kwinana Beach strip surface.

Denis Whiting drove his immaculate new Holden Monaro to a very convincing win in Pro Stock

Whiting had a new engine package for the event and that paid immediate dividends as he securing the maximum points from the event. 

Runner-up Tremayne was driving his family’s recently acquired Pontiac GXP race car – the same Rick Jones-built car that Canadian Mark Martino raced part time during 2010.  But in the final round, that car which had endured some engine damage during the semis could only idle up to the start line and watch while Whiting made his record pass.

The chase for the ANDRA championship now moves on Sydney Dragway on March 24 and 25.

Posted by:  Bruce Biegler

Photos by:  Phil Luyer       

ANDRA Series Name ET MPH Notes
Top Doorslammer        
Winner: John Zappia 5.866 245.90  
R/UP: Robin Judd 5.878 249.30  
Low ET: Robin Judd 5.861    
Top Speed: Robin Judd   250.00  
Bump Spot:   6.139   8-car field
Pro Stock Car        
Winner: Denis Whiting 7.022 192.71  
R/UP: Tyrone Tremayne 12.28 NSR  
Low ET: Denis Whiting 7.022    
Top Speed: Denis Whiting   195.22  
Bump Spot:   7.119   8-car field
Sportsman Winners        
Competition John McSweeney 5.965 237.46 BB/FC
Supercharged Outlaws Vince Belladonna 11.31  85.87 B/O Winner
SuperSedan Samuel Gullotto 7.947 172.08  
Super Stock Colin Mortimore 8.379 160.42  
Super Street Roger Moorhouse 11.04 120.16  
Modified Cameron Turner 8.149 162.74  
Comp Bike Ross Smith 8.724 163.04  
Mod Bike Justin Townson 8.862 136.15