Two former series champions found victory lane during the abbreviated Quick 32/PBSS event held at Grand Bend last weekend…..

Former Quick 32 Sportsman Series champion Phil Sampson scored as did Pro Bike & Sled Series champion Dan Cryderman in the latest round of drag racing action at the Grand Bend Motorplex.

Sampson, of Granton Ontario, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series champ in 2011, saw a successful return to the series, as the Top Sportsman driver qualified seventh and marched through the field to take his victory.

Quick 32 winner - Phil Sampson

Quick 32 winner – Phil Sampson

Driving his Chevy Cavalier, he beat out Top Dragster driver Tony Positano of Toronto in the final round for the event win.

Two-time and reigning PBSS champ Cryderman made it look easy at Grand Bend, qualifying number two on his Pro Bike Suzuki to meet up and eliminate Ted Glinny of Milton in the final.

Two complete races were scheduled for the weekend, but Sunday’s racing was cancelled due to poor weather. It has been re-scheduled for August 21-23.

Sampson took out number one qualifier and former champion Bill Wilson of the Wilson & Gray team from Ingersoll in round one, Motorcity Mike Sowards of Clarkston Michigan in the next round, ran a single, and then eliminated Mike Leger of Hampton Ontario in the Top Sportsman final.

Meanwhile, Positano, who qualified number two in Top Dragster, eliminated Dennis Black of Toronto, Mike Everitt of Stratford, Ontario, ran a single, and met up with and eliminated Jim Rubino of Buffalo New York in the final.

Toronto-based TD of Tony Positano

Toronto-based TD of Tony Positano

When Sampson and Positano met up for the event final, Sampson cut a .043 light and recorded a winning 7.093, 194.63 run to Positano’s 6.417, 207.37 effort who cut a .034 light.

In the PBSS, presented by Wiseco Performance Products, two-time champ Cryderman of Thamesville Ontario, and Glinny, of Milton, Ontario ran a good final, with Cryderman getting by Pro Bike rider and number two qualifier Glinny with an 8.092, 164.20 pass to Glinny’s 8.314, 153.37 run. Cryderman posted an .035 reaction time and Glinny a .048 reaction time.

2X and reigning PBSS champion - Dan Cryderman was victorious

2X and reigning PBSS champion – Dan Cryderman was victorious

Cryderman eliminated Pro Sled rider Colleen Cook of Burlington Ontario, and Dan Beaulieu of Harrow Ontario to get to the final. Glinny took out Mario Henriques of Ajax Ontario and number one PBSS qualifier and Pro Biker John Orfanidis of Toronto to meet up with Cryderman in the final.

Ted Glinny was runner-up in PBSS

Ted Glinny was runner-up in PBSS

Kevin Wicke of Stratford Ontario leads in Quick 32 Sportsman Series Championship Point Award Series followed by Phil Sampson, Tony Positano, Dan Zygmont, Glen Vardy, Jim Rubino, Tom Stuart, Mike Leger, Lyle Williams, Mike Everitt, Wilson & Gray, Dennis Black, Marc Gervais, Scott McCann, James Lichty, Motorcity Mike Sowards, Lui Ramundo, Doug Blowes, Ken Langlois and Sam Gauci, the Top Twenty, all in contention.

Cryderman leads the PBSS Championship Point Award Series with 432 points, with Glinny second at 390 points. Orfanidis is third with 332 points, Beaulieu fourth with 329 points, and Cook is fifth with 286 points.

Racing for both series resumes July 31 – August 1 at Empire Dragway in Leicester, New York.

The Quick 32 Sportsman Series, is now in its seventh year of operation, and the PBSS presented by Wiseco Performance Products, is now in its fifth season. Both series race several times each season at the same event, offering a colorful and exciting package of drag racing action.

Posted by: Tim Miller

Photo Credit: Darwin Kent and Mike & Veronica Seguin