PMRA/Q32 Night of Champions – Highlights 

The Pro Modified Racing Association and the Quick 32 Sportsman Series presented by NAPA Auto Parts held its annual Night of Champions over the weekend….. 
Master of ceremonies Larry Satchell guided the full-to-capacity room proceedings at the Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel in Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada that rewarded the top drivers and teams in the two popular drag racing series.
Now in its second season, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series has grown in stature and car counts to become one of the top-running race series in Canada.
Capturing his second consecutive Quick 32 Sportsman Series title was Kevin Wicke of Stratford, Ontario.
“What can I say,” commented the driver of the K&K Racing Dodge Stratus. “We had a great year. I have the best team, and the car runs by itself.”
Although the team did not outright win any of the Quick 32 Sportsman Series events in 2010, it qualified in the top three throughout the season, and recorded two runner-up positions in the Top Sportsman class, a semi-final round, two eight-round finishes, and a win in the Top Sportsman class with an event runner-up.
“The driving is easy,” Wicke added. “And everyone has become good friends in the Quick 32 Sportsman Series. They are all a great group, and a great group of drivers. It has been the perfect series for us.”
Placing second in the series was Top Dragster driver Scott Wildgust of Wartburg, Ontario. Buddy Forrest of Rochester, New York was third in the standings, Dan Aitken Jr of Belle River, Ontario took fourth with his Top Sportsman entry, and Steve Parkhurst of Belleville, Ontario, who also drives in the Top Sportsman class, was fifth.
Now in its sixth year, the PMRA honored Mike Stawicki and the G-Force Race Cars / MSR Performance Team who captured the 2010 PMRA Championship in the Point Award Series.
“I’ve been in this game a long time and the 2010 season was one of the most successful for us,” said the Medina, New York driver who competes with the G-Force Race Cars Firebird.
Stawicki, who has raced in the Pro Modified class for more than 20 years, has been teamed with Pro Modified builders Jim and Jon Salemi, and the combination was dominate in the 2010 PMRA season which included one victory, a co-victory, two runner-up placings, and a quarter-final round. 
He also set new benchmarks for the Pro Modified class during the season, with his record-setting 5.739-seconds in the quarter-mile in August, and a top PMRA speed record with a 255.75-mph run in September.
“We had a great season this year, set some records, and had fun,” he continued. “I want to thank Jim (Salemi) who has been my partner for 20 years now.”
Stawicki said he was impressed with the PMRA Series.
“The PMRA is the most impressive regional Pro Modified Series he North America,” he said. “It has grown to a great stature.”
Stawicki told the audience he will not return to the PMRA for 2011, but focus on competing in the ADRL series, and is presently preparing for an eight-race series in the Mid-East between December and March.
Placing second in the series was Derek Hawker of Corbyville, Ontario. Tied for third in points were Eric Latino of Port Perry, Ontario, and Bruce Boland of Hamilton, Ontario. Sam Andreacchi of Toronto, Ontario finished in fifth.
For the second year, the John Massingberd Memorial Award was presented during the evening to an individual who represents the commitment, dedication and passion as John did to our sport. Massingberd, long-time Canadian media personality who was instrumental in promoting motorsport until his death in December of 2008 after a long and courage battle with ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease, John left the world that he loved at age 54.
Receiving this year’s honor were Fred and Betsy Smith of Cayuga, Ontario. Aside from running the successful Can-Am Stock/Super Stock Series for 14 years, the Smiths were prominent racers of international recognition and continue to build winning race cars in their shop.
“John was the consummate car guy,” noted Fred Smith in accepting the award. “He loved driving his Corvette, and would show up at the shop, interested in what we were doing. He was always keeping abreast of new ideas and technology. Betsy and I are very honored to receive this award.”
Pro Modified Racing Association RPM Magazine Editor’s Choice Award – Mike Stawicki
Quick 32 Sportsman Series RPM Magazine Editor’s Choice Award – Kevin Wicke
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Bear’s Performance Products Dash 4 Cash Award – Dan Aitken Jr.
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Wiseco Piston Award – Tom Orr
Patio Passport Quick 32 Sportsman Series Bonus Special Awards – Kevin Wicke and Scott Wildgust
Pro Modified Racing Association Sportsmanship Award presented by Bill Mehlenbacher Photography – Derek Hawker
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Sportsmanship Award presented by Dave Erauw Photography – Mike Wagg & Dave Bell
Pro Modified Racing Association Achievement Award presented by Dave Erauw Photography – Noakes and Martin Racing
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Achievement Award presented by Dave Erauw Photography – Melanie Simmons
Pro Modified Racing Association Rookie of the Year Award presented by Canadian Drag Racer Magazine – Vito Montesano
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Rookie of the Year Award presented by Canadian Drag Racer Magazine – Peter Hyde
PMRA and Quick 32 Sportsman Series Director of Operations Bruce Mehlenbacher thanked all the teams and the race venues. He also thanked the sponsors of the series, emphasizing everyone’s importance in the Series.
For more information contact Bruce F. Mehlenbacher at
Photo Credit: Dave Erauw Photography – and Bill Mehlenbacher Photography –