By:  Zack Elcock

Glendora, CA., (Jan. 14, 2011) – NHRA announced today the addition of Toronto Motorsports Park in Cayuga, Ontario, Canada as the newest addition to its roster of member tracks, beginning with the 2011 racing season….

Toronto Motorsports Park follows New England Dragway in Epping, N.H. as the latest tracks to join the NHRA Northeast Division.

As an NHRA sanctioned track, Toronto Motorsports Park will be eligible to host and offer racers a variety of NHRA racing opportunities, including the National DRAGSTER Challenge, NHRA King of the Track, and NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Challenge. Additionally, the track will continue to run weekly racing programs for high school, street legal and sportsman bracket racing competitors.

“It is a pleasure to have Toronto Motorsports Park return to the NHRA Member Track status,” said Bob Lang, NHRA Northeast Division Director. “I have always enjoyed this track and working with Uli (Bieri, Track Owner) and Neale (Armstrong, Director of Racing Operations). We have a large number of dedicated racers in this area. Since the NHRA last visited Toronto Motorsports Park they have made many upgrades to the facility. This is a major step in bringing more NHRA racing into Canada and strengthens the racing that is already taking place in Ontario. The Northeast Division is hoping to bring in some new sponsors and create an exciting series in eastern Canada.”

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2011.  As the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States, NHRA presents 22 national events featuring the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA Get Screened America Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. Two NHRA-sanctioned bracket racing series provide competition opportunities for drivers of all levels: the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA.  NHRA also offers the Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 8 to 17.   In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Cayuga Dragway at TMP returns to NHRA sanctioning