A First for Farber!

Popular New England-based drag racer Pete Farber became the 5th different winner within NHRA’s Pro Mod Drag Racing Series this season when he scored in the RPM Pro Mod class presentation during NHRA’s Ford Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol TN….

Pete Farber wheeled his awesome Dodge Daytona to it's first NHRA event win - last weekend at Bristol

Pete Farber wheeled his awesome Dodge Daytona to it’s first NHRA event win – last weekend at Bristol

Farber’s win, driving his very unique and fan favourite supercharged ’69 Dodge Daytona, was his first career win within NHRA national event competition.

After qualifying #13, Pete drove his PJ and Sons Towing/CRC Brakeleen 69’ Dodge Daytona to a 6.087-second pass at 240.51 mph to defeat No. 7 seed Steve Matusek in the final. Matusek trailed in with a 6.971 at 152.61 in his Agave Underground Tequila-backed ’68 Camaro.

Farber defeated Danny Rowe, Dan Stevenson and Jim Laurita en route to his first career final. With the victory, Farber moves to the eighth position in the NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series points standings as that series hit it’s 10-race season mid-way point.

Western New York’s Mike Janis took over the points lead after he advanced to the semifinals as season-long leader Rickie Smith lost in the opening round.

Event Essentials:  RPM Pro Mod @ Ford Thunder Valley Nationals (June 13-15th, 2014) Bristol TN

[table id=12 /]

Kevin Fiscus' turbo Ford Mustang remained one of the circuit's fastest cars --he qualified #1 at Bristol with a low ET effort of 5.958 secs

Kevin Fiscus’ turbo Ford Mustang remained one of the circuit’s fastest cars –he qualified #1 at Bristol with a low ET effort of 5.958 secs

RPM Sponsorship Review

After 5 out of 10 races, the Championship battle for first place in points is tight for drivers of the Real Pro Mod Association (RPM). Currently Mike Janis is at the top of the NHRA Pro Mod Series with 347 points, with Rickie Smith only 10 points behind and Mike Castellana is just 19 points out of first place, both less than 2-rounds out of the lead.

Pete Farber won the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals this past weekend, putting him #8 in the standings. The Wally wasn’t the only thing Farber brought home from Bristol. He won the Larry Jeffers Race Cars $500 bonus for the quickest winning reaction time, cutting a .004 light in the semi-finals against Jim Laurita. Farber was also one of the RPM raffle winners of a Powerocks charger along with Jim Bell.

Other raffle winners at the RPM driver’s meeting on Friday included Clint Satterfield who took home $3,000 worth of Mickey Thomson Performance Wheels. $250 in merchandise certificates to JE Pistons went to Kenny Lang, Gerry Capano, Chip King and Steven Whitely. CRC Industries gave away a case of Brakleen to Donnie Walsh.

RedHorse Performance bonuses of $300 went to first round qualifiers Jim Bell, Troy Coughlin, Danny Rowe, Clint Satterfield, Von Smith, Rickie Smith, Don Walsh and Steven Whitely. $500 bonuses were awarded to quarter-final finishers Kevin Fiscus, Dan Stevenson, Mike Castellana and Mike Knowles. Mike Janis and Jim Laurita received $700 for making it into the semi-finals.

The next race in the NHRA Pro Mod series for the drivers of the RPM is July 4-6 in Norwalk, Ohio, presented by Mid Atlantic Energy Services.

Posting by:  Bruce Biegler & Nicole Erickson
Photos by:  Bruce Biegler