Boland Wins PMRA Final – Just Misses 4th Title

2011 Championship title not decided for Pro Modified Racing Association season until final race in final event at Cayuga Dragway….

It has happened several years in the past, and once again the championship in the Pro Modified Racing Association was not decided until the last race of the final event.

For 2011, Vito Montesano held the lead throughout the season, but when it came to the final at the Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park, his points leads was in question when Bruce Boland and Eric Latino pulled up to the lanes for the last race.

Both driving new cars this season, Boland had qualified number two in the field with a 6.000, 236.80, and Latino had taken the top spot with a 5.996, 242.98, setting the meet’s Low ET and Top Speed benchmarks. Both were previous PMRA event winners this year.

Hamilton's Bruce Boland came within only 1 point of winning his 4th career PMRA Championship title

Boland and his crew staged and made ready for the pass first, then Latino lined up, getting settled before the tree was lit. But Latino fouled at the line, and Boland went on to a 5.943, 240.08 pass to take the win.

With the points race so close between Montesano, Latino, and Boland, Montesano’s title in the PMRA 2011 Championship Point Award Series presented by Magnum Auto Parts, Patio Passport and Global Emissions Systems, Inc. was in jeopardy before this final. If Latino had won, he would have become the points champion. If Boland won, Montesano would retain his points lead in the series.

Winning the 2011 title by one point, Montesano is the newest PMRA champion. The Maple,Ontarioracer drives a G-Force Race Cars 1969 Camaro with ERD power and has one PMRA win to his credit. Latino’s Team Green 1969 Camaro is also a G-Force car, and has been strong all year, winning two PMRA events.

Montesano finished with 1534 points, Boland 1533 points, and Latino 1526 points.

Boland’s 1941 Willys is a Larson Race Cars unit with an ERD powerplant. The win was the second this year for Boland and the B&B Racing Team.
“Everything went fine today,” said Boland after his win. “We had to do some engine work earlier this morning, but we got it back together and all worked well. The track was good, and we had no problems.
“I want to thank Carl Spiering and the guys at ERD, Sal Vavala, Elisabeth DosSantos and Jon Daniel Montesano who work so hard on this car,” he continued. “And I want to thank all my sponsors for their support, including Vieira Concrete Supply of Hamilton who came on board just this week.”
Montesano qualified number three in the field, but was eliminated in the semi-final by Boland, while Latino eliminated number five qualifier Rob Atchison of London, Ontario in the Atchison Racing Corvette.
Boland eliminated Kenny Lang of Grande Point, Manitoba in the first round. The race was Lang’s second PMRA event in the Summit Racing Camaro, his first trip earlier this year to Cayuga a victory for the NHRA Pro Mod regular.

Vito Montesano parlayed terrific season consistency into the overall PMRA championship title

Montesano eliminated number six qualifier Jack Grainy of Tonawanda, New York, and the Grainy Brothers Camaro in the first round, Atchison defeated number four qualifier Jeff Roth of New Dundee, Ontario, and Latino eliminated number eight qualifier Mark Nielsen of Brantford, Ontario.
Finishing fourth in points behind Latino was Roth with 1464 points, and fifth was Nielsen with 1431 points. Derek Hawker of Corbyville, Ontario is next with 1375 points, followed by Gary Irving of Toronto, Ontario with 1291 points.
Jack Grainy placed eighth with 1080 points, Atchison took ninth with 1072 points, and Jay Dos Santos Halton Hills, Ontario took tenth with 1042 points.
Boland noted after his win that he came within one point of winning his fourth PMRA championship.
“We came close,” he commented. “I guess I’ll be the 3.9-time PMRA champ.”

Winner: Bruce Boland 5.943 240.08  
R/UP: Eric Latino 11.67   R/L 122.47  
Low ET: Bruce Boland 5.943    
Top Speed: Eric Latino   242.98  
Bump Spot:   6.176    
Q32 Winner: Tom Orr 12.14  67.68 TS
Q32 R/UP: Jamie Bridge NTR NSR TD
PBSS Winner: Terry Glinny 8.72 141.46  
PBSS R/UP: Pete Stewart 9.48 135.71  
Quebec’s Tom Orr won his first Napa Q32 title during the season ending event at Cayuga

Posted by:  Tim Miller — Photos by:  Bruce Biegler