BY:   Anthony Vestal

Legendary NHRA crew chief and mechanical wizard Dale Armstrong (who was born and raised in Alberta) was one of seven icons from the world of motorsports inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Wednesday evening during the organization’s annual induction ceremony at the Fillmore Theatre in Detroit MI.

Long recognized as one of the sport’s greatest innovators, Armstrong was the first Funny Car crew chief to use wind-tunnel testing and data recorders. He also is credited with the development of the lockup-style clutch, dual-source fuel-delivery system, and dynamometer testing for nitromethane-burning racing engines.

Dale Armstrong

As crew chief for Kenny Bernstein, Armstrong earned five NHRA world championship titles, including four in Funny Car and one in Top Fuel, and helped the team make history by posting the first 300 mph speed in NHRA history. Following his record-breaking run with Bernstein, Armstrong continued his successful career tuning Don “The Snake” Prudhomme’s Top Fuel dragster.

Armstrong, who also had an outstanding career as a driver with 12 NHRA national event victories including the prestigious U.S. Nationals, was inducted alongside famed daredevil Joie Chitwood, NASCAR champ Alan Kulwicki, AMA SuperCross champion Jeremy McGrath, television announcer Ken Squier, Trans Am champion Jerry Titus and USAC champ Rich Vogler.

Marty Reid, former NHRA television announcer and current lead for ESPN’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series telecasts as well as the Indy 500, presented Armstrong for induction.

Chip Ganassi served as Honorary Chairman for the evening’s ceremonies. President Tom Compton and Senior Vice President of Racing Operations, Graham Light, attended the event on behalf of NHRA.

Armstrong is the 22nd inductee in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America from the world of NHRA drag racing. Others are Don Garlits (1989); Shirley Muldowney (1990); Don Prudhomme (1991); Connie Kalitta (1992); Wally Parks (1993); Bob Glidden (1994); Keith Black (1995); Bill Jenkins (1996); Art Chrisman (1997); Don Nicholson (1998); C. J. Hart (1999); Danny Ongais (2000); Tom McEwen (2001); Eddie Hill (2002); Ed Donovan (2003); Joe Amato (2004); Tommy Ivo (2005); Chris Karamesines (2006); Ronnie Sox and Buddy Martin (2007); John Force (2008); and Kenny Bernstein (2009).

The Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame is operated by the Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.  Currently housed in the Detroit Science Center in the Motor City’s Museum District, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America features more than 30 racing and high performance vehicles.  The constantly changing collection features racing machines from the world of Indy Cars, Stock Cars, Sports Cars, Can-Am, Trans-Am, Sprint Cars, Powerboats, Truck Racing, Drag Racing, Motorcycles, Air Racing and even Snowmobiles.