Morgan Extends “Down Under” TF Points Margin

Darren Morgan extended his lead at the top of the standings in the ANDRA Pro Series Top Fuel Championships following a thrilling victory at the Perth Motorplex (on Jan. 29th)…..

Following his big win, Morgan now sits with 372 points which is 74 points ahead of Andrew Cowin after the 5th round of the 2010/11 ANDRA season series.

In an event labeled by many as one of the best Top Fuel events in a long time, Morgan powered his Hungry Jacks (Mildura) Darren Morgan Racing Top Fuel Dragster to be the third quickest during qualifying with a strong 4.862 second pass across the quarter-mile.

The 45 year-old lined up alongside last year’s champion Martin Stamatis in the first round of eliminations, which he duly won. As his main championship rival Andrew Cowin was defeated in round one, Morgan made the most of the opportunity by disposing of Terry Sainty in round two with a 4.818 second pass before lining up alongside Phil Lamattina in the final.

Morgan got a superb launch off the start line in the sudden death final to power his way to victory, his second of the four rounds held so far in the 2010/2011 series, with a 4.832 second/313.58 mph pass.

Darren Morgan was impressive while winning Top Fuel at Perth WA

“With 50 percent more championship points on offer you can’t ask for much more than a win like we had on the weekend,” beamed Morgan. “The Hungry Jacks Mildura DMR Top Fuel Dragster ran faultlessly all weekend long and I was able to punch out consistent 4.8 second passes on almost every run, which is great.”

Hungry Jacks Mildura boss Greg Stephens, who made the trip across to Perth with the team, was delighted with the performance of the Darren Morgan Racing outfit across the weekend.

“Any win is great but when you take a win so far from home and with bonus points on offer it makes it even better,” said Stephens. “It was great to be able to join the team for the trip to Perth and see the way everything works behind the scenes to chase the championship.  With another three rounds left in the championship there is still a long way to go but I’m really looking forward to the future and hopefully bringing the title back to Mildura in June.”

The next Top Fuel event within the ANDRA Pro Series will scheduled for Queensland’s Willowbank Raceway this coming March 25/26.


ANDRA Series Name ET MPH Notes
Top Fuel        
Winner: Darren Morgan 4.832 313.58  
R/UP: Phil Lamattina 8.609  89.55  
Low ET: Andrew Cowin 4.770    
Top Speed: Andrew Cowin   318.02  
Bump Spot:   6.279   8 – Car Field
Sportsman  Winners:        
Top Comp (A) Daniel Gregorini 6.094 233.76 Curfew Finalist
Top Comp (B) Wayne Keys 6.183 230.76 Curfew Finalist
Super Comp Allen Puglia 7.287 187.89  
Comp Bike Neil Anderson 9.083 154.37  
Supercharged Outlaws Steve Yozzi 7.701 175.78  
Modified Laurence Adamo 7.906 166.35  
Super Sedan Mike Craig 8.610 159.29  
Modified Bike Todd Patterson 10.26 120.48  
Super Street Darren Bakranich 11.83 107.01  


Top Comp Finalist - AA/PA Camaro of Daniel Gregorini

Top Comp Finalist - Wayne Keys AA/AP Holden

Photos Courtesy of