Q32 Series Series Wraps up at Cayuga

Aitken’s Mustang prevails again — K&K Dodge Stratus successfully defends Napa Quick 32 points title chase…..
By:  Tim Miller
Waiting a week was well worth the trouble for Dan Aitken Jr as the Belle River Ontario driver picked up not only his class win but the overall win in the final round of the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Presented by NAPA Auto Parts.

Dan Aitken finished the Napa Q32 season series Hot!

This sixth and final event had been delayed from a week previous at the Grand Bend Motorplex, and the continuation of the final rounds was held at the Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park.
Aitken, driving the team’s big-block 1995 Ford Mustang in the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Top Sportsman class, ran a 7.33, 183.93 in the event final over the Top Dragster of Bill Moloughney of Shawville Quebec, who broke in the last round.
With his victory, plus winning the series at the previous event, Aitken finishes the season fifth in Championship Point Award Series.
Kevin Wicke of Stratford, last year’s Quick 32 Sportsman Series Champion, lost to Aitken in the final Top Sportsman race. Aitken qualified number 12 in the 16-car field, while Wicke took the number one Marydel Qualifying spot.
Aitken defeated Fred DeJonge of Puslinch, Ontario, Darrin Grubb of Pine River, Ontario, and Rob Gray of Ingersoll, Ontario. 
On the Top Dragster side, Moloughney, who qualified 10th, eliminated Jim Rubino of Buffalo, NY in the final round. Moloughney took out Rick Kopp of Burlington, Ontario, Jamie Bridge of Napanee, Ontario, and Buddy Forrest of Rochester, NY, before meeting up with Rubino for the final.
The Aitken Top Sportsman and overall win was his third in Quick 32 Sportsman Series history, Moloughney’s Top Dragster class victory was the first for the Quebec driver.
With the 2010 season now complete, Kevin Wicke has been declared the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Championship Point Award Series Champion once again. The K&K Racing Team amassed 1178 points, just two points ahead of Top Dragster driver Scott Wildgust of Wartburg, Ontario with 1176 points.

Stratford's Kevin Wicke successfully defended his Napa Q32 points title.

Another Top Dragster team, the Morgan Forrest entry with Buddy Forrest driver, placed third with 1155 points, while Aitken was next with 1154 points.
Fifth in final points was the Top Sportsman entry of Steve Parkhurst of Belleville, Ontario with 1154 points. Sixth was the Top Sportsman entry of Wilson and Gray of Ingersoll, Ontario, with 1138 points, seventh was the TS car of Grubb Racing of Pine River, Ontario, with 1104 points, eighth was Steve Corriveau of Fonthill, Ontario, with 1048 points in another Top Sportsman entry, ninth was Top Dragster driver Jamie Bridge of Napanee, Ontario, with 1043 points, and tenth was Michael Hinbest of Orangeville, Ontario and his Top Dragster car with 1040 points.
The PMRA and Quick 32 Sportsman Series Championship Point Award Series winners will be honored at the “Night of Champions” on Saturday, November 13, 2010 at The Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel in Niagara Falls, Ontario.
For more information contact Bruce F. Mehlenbacher at Bruce@Quick32.ca
Quick 32 Sportsman Series presented by NAPA Auto Parts
Championship Point Award Series Standings

  1 Kevin Wicke – 1178
  2 Scott Wildgust – 1176
  3 Buddy Forrest – 1155
  4 Dan Aitken – 1154
  5 Steve Parkhurst – 1144                 

TD racer Scott Wildgust finished a close 2nd in final points

  6 Wilson & Gray – 1138
  7 Darrin Grubb – 1104
  8 Steve Corriveau – 1048
  9 Jamie Bridge – 1043
10 Michael Hinbest – 1040
11 Darryl McMillen – 1039
12 Phil Sampson – 1004
13 Melanie Simmons – 998
13 Spencer Hyde – 998
13 Bill Moloughney – 998
16 Sam Christian – 991
17 Tony Positano – 970
18 Peter Hyde – 884
19 Johnny Hipwell – 876
20 Gary Basaraba – 854
21 Tom Orr – 807
22 Jamie Tupper – 771
23 Fred DeJonge – 750
24 Paul Martin – 702
25 Paolo Giust – 674
26 Ben Grevers – 669
27 Michael Kalin – 652
28 Mitch Elliott – 626
29 Doug Cadman – 476
30 Tom Bene – 436
31 James Lichty – 277
32 Maurice Campolucci – 235
33 Dan Flanigan – 220
34 Dave Keeling – 200
35 Paul Noakes – 140
36 Jim Flanigan – 134
37 Wagg & Bell – 112

(Bruce Biegler Photos)