“Shakedown” Shaping Up Nicely!

One of the coolest independent drag races of the entire season is shaping up nicely.  Englishtown’s Shakedown Nationals 2012 will coagulate some of the best Pro Mod  teams in the world to battle for bragging rites and supremecy….

With a little less than four weeks to the start of the 10th Annual Shakedown Nationals at the famed Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, NJ, some of the biggest names and fastest Pro Mods are signing up to be part of this historic event and capture the $20,000 winner’s prize. If you’re a Pro Mod fan, you won’t want to miss this event.

History was made at the Shakedown in 2008 when Jim Halsey, owner and operator of Cecil County Dragway, rang a bell that won’t be un-rung. Halsey is the first man into the five second zone with his big 820 cubic inch Fulton powered Tim McAmis built Camaro with a 5.998 @ 240. Also at the same event, Scott Cannon became the quickest Pro Mod in the world at the time with a blistering 5.73 @ 252 with 7 IHRA Pro Mod Championship winner Scotty Cannon tuning the ’70 Plymouth Superbird by Vanishing Point Race Cars. 

Since 2008, three great events have been contested at the Shakedown Nationals, and 2012 is shaping up to be one for the history books. Competition is fierce. History has shown that this event at times pits David v. Goliath, and upsets have been known to happen at the Shakedown, so it’s anybody’s race to win. 

Pro Mods from all over the USA, Canada, and some as far away as the West Coast and Puerto Rico will compete in what should be the biggest and baddest Pro Mod event of the year, with a single 32 car qualified field with all power adders running in one class down the quarter mile.  

Last year’s winners in their respective classes Jose Gonzales and Mike Castellana will return along with NHRA/ADRL Pro Mod Competitors Todd Tutterow, Donny Walsh, Shannon Jenkins, Robert Patrick, Pete Farber, Kevin McCurdy and Bad Brad Brand. NMCA standout Bill Lutz. representing Canada, PMRA racers Eric Latino, Bruce Boland, Derrick Hawker, Sam Andeacchi, Jay Santos and Jack Grainy. West Coast representation from the PSCA-WCOPMA includes Mike Maggio and Scott Oksas. From the Northeast and representing the NEOPMA Fifi Montrond, Steve King, Jim Bersani, Gerry Capano, Jim Barker, Isaias Rojas, Gary Walker, George Williams, Gary Courtier, Matt Deitsch, Steve Drummond, Dwayne Wolfe, Angela Ray, Carl Stevens and Dean Marinis. Other great Pro Mod teams include Tom Dwyer, Dave Norris, Randy Jewell, and Andy Jensen.

“This list will continue to grow” states Pro Mod Racer, Promoter and Founder of the Shakedown Nationals, Dave Hance, who will also be competing in the Pro Mod class. “History will be rewritten at this spectacular event”.  

The event features not only Pro Mods, but also Top Sportsman, Outlaw 10.5, Limited Street, X275, Heavy Street, 8.50 Index, Pro Import and Pro Street Bike.

For more information visit: http://www.shakedownnationals.com/

Posted by: Vito Micciola

Photo by:  Brennan Shortall