Tebb “Judges” The Competition 

Western Canada’s innovative Rocky Mountain Nostalgia Funny Car Association ran out its 3rd year together as an organization during 2012.   The highly successful campaign featured a nail biting season conclusion…. 

Edmonton’s Cal Tebb, one of the most likeable racers within that racing scene, emerged as the 2012 RMNFC points Champion.  Driving his runaway fan favorite 1969 GTO “Judge”, Tebb’s overall points title was a hard fought affair that came right down to wire. 

“This year’s points championship came right down to the final race of the final event held at Castrol Raceway,”Cal confirmed.  “When we were at Mission Raceway in July that final round was rained out.  So when I went to the final round at Edmonton’s finale — that race was actually for double the points – because it was for two event wins in one.  When I was successful in taking that win light – I also took over the points lead to win the title by 10 points.” 

Cal Tebb & Company celebrate their 2012 RMNFC Association championship!

Tebb’s Pontiac GTO is for sure one of the most creative cars run by anyone anywhere in drag racing for Canada.  The 2012 season was in fact his 4th year running that show car quality machine which features a supercharged alcohol burning 481X AJ motor that was produced by Atchison Machine (London ON).  

The GTO Judge body is as unique as they come out there.  Originally molded by American racer Dennis Lacharte, that carbon fiber creation does clad a Funny Car chassis by Murf McKinney.   Tebb runs the car almost exclusively in his circuit’s 6.99 indexed series.  

“Our season took me all over Western Canadian drag strips,” Cal continued.  “About half of our year is exhibition and show events and the rest is competition for points.  Previously I had been 2nd or 3rd in points so 2012 is the first time I have ended up at the top at year end.”  

The RMNFC association did evolve after a split up of a previous organization back in 2009.  The series features a slew of cool-looking race cars that put on a great show for the race fans as well as fierce competition between it’s colourful drivers.   

“Our circuit has about 14-15 current members but it is growing,” Tebb continued.  “At the final race for the season we added a couple of new cars.” 

Tebb is in fact the President of the association which he helps to organize and run in his spare time jointly with fellow circuit racer Joey Steckler (Joey’s Place).  

Cal was quick to cite the relentless dedication of his crew for his title and also offered up some big thanks for the circuit’s highly revered sponsors. 

“This championship would not have happened without my wife (Anne Lamers) and my crewman Matt Barnes,” he added.  “In 2012 our series was sponsored by M/T Trail Tires, Ace Manufacturing and Big West Dodge — all who give us great support.” 

The “Top Five” Finishers in the 2012 Final Points tally were

#1 240 Cal Tebb
#2 230 Shane Reykdal
#3 200 Troy Sitko
#4 160 Cory Kincaid
#5 155 Joey Steckler 

For more background information on the series and it’s racers or to make an event booking visit: www.rockymountainnostalgiafunnycars.com 

Posted by:  Bruce Biegler – Photos by:  Rachel Lewis &  Bruce Biegler