W.A. Event Produces TF Upset Winner 

Western Australian Top Fuel driver Mark Sheehan put in the race of his life to win the third round of the ANDRA Pro Series, the National Open held at Perth Motorplex in Western Australia (Jan. 28-29th).

Sheehan eliminated the defending Australian national champion Darren Morgan in an upset victory in the final round winning a 4.95 secs 274.39 mph to 5.045 secs 273.55 mph contest.

Top Fuel racing at Kwinana Beach's ANDRA National Open produced a first time Winner

It was a remarkable comeback from the last qualifying position for Sheehan, who failed to complete a full pass during any of the three Friday night sessions.

But that was all changed on Saturday when Sheehan first defeated former champion Phil Lamattina in round one before a bye run in the semi finals gave him an opportunity to fine tune the car.

He said it was just a matter of getting the car from A to B in tricky conditions.

“We didn’t really get any runs on the board on Friday (qualifying),” he said. “It was good to get down the track in the heat of the day in the first round appearance, Phil Lamattina is tough opposition.

“We got the solo and into the final against Darren. He can roll out a 4.7 sec whenever he wants but obviously track conditions were still tricky so we did what we did and got the win.”

Sheehan is a part time driver on the ANDRA Pro Series tour but said he was giving some thought to competing at the next round of the championship in Adelaide on April 13, 14 and 15.

Championship wise things took a turn when Damien Harris defeated Andrew Cowin in the opening round of eliminations to take over the lead of the series. Morgan’s runner up performance meantime moved him into third.

Posted by:  Rob Sparkes   http://www.dragnews.com.au/

Photo by:  Phil Luyer  

The next event scheduled within the 2011/12 ANDRA Pro Series is back at Perth’s KwinanaBeachracing facility on March 3-4th when the 41st ANDRA Western Nationals goes down.  That marquee race will feature Top Doorslammer, Pro Stock and Rocket All Stars competitors.          

ANDRA Series Name ET MPH Notes
Top Fuel        
Winner: Mark Sheehan 4.955 274.39  
R/UP: Darren Morgan 5.045 273.55  
Low ET: Darren Morgan 4.749    
Top Speed: Darren Morgan   313.58  
Bump Spot:   N/A   (5 cars)
Sportsman  Winners:        
Top Comp John McSweeney 6.159 228.42  
Comp Bike Ross Smith 8.877 161.87  
Super Comp Robert Gaikhorst 8.456 158.73  
Mod Bike Paul McNamara 10.50 134.73  
SuperSedan Kaine Weighall 9.114 147.05  
Modified Kim Nordahl 8.851 148.02  
Super Street Darren Bakranich 11.21 119.68