Emotions ran high and the racing was competitive during a Sydney NSW Burson Auto Parts Top Fuel round.….

On Jan 27-28th, legendary facility Sydney Dragway hosted what was the 10th ever event (since formation just last year) for the Burson Auto Parts Australian Top Fuel Championship series.

A jam-packed and sold out crowd witnessed the “Atlantic Oil Top Fuel Slam”.   The date featured not only the best for Australian Top Fuel car racing but also included an emotional dedication and celebration of life in memory of Top Slammer and Sydney based racer Sam Fenech, who was lost to us all during a crash at the series’ previous event round held at Willowbank Raceway.

Racing for Jim Read Racing, Peter Xiberras won the Burson Auto Parts  Atlantic Oil Top Fuel Slam event title, defeating his teammate and team owner Jim Read in the A-final round. Peter won the event with a run of 3.846 secs at 483.66 KPH.

Western Australian powerhouse Kelvin Lyle took the ADRC Top Doorslammer title from the #1 qualified slot with his sinister looking Ford Mustang. Lyle outgunned Daniel Gregorini’s Camaro in the A-final by a 5.729 secs to 5.776 secs count.

Jerry Callaghan drove his turbocharged 1970 Camaro to the event’s ADRC presented Pro Mod title. Running on a 5.85 (secs) index — he beat Neil Murphy in the final with a winning 5.944 secs at 400.26 KPH.

Chris Matheson assumed his normal position in victory lane at the Sydney event taking yet another Top Fuel Motorcycle eliminator title.

Rob Dekert was victorious in the well attended ADRC Atlantic Oils Pro Stock eliminator racing his GXP machine past Chris Soldatos in the final round.

Please do link to our event photo gallery which is hosted to our LMLC Media site:  HERE

Photos by Bruce Biegler