Accolades for Top Canadian Drag Racing Series 

Night of Champions held for PMRA, Quick 32 Sportsman Series and PBSS….
The Pro Modified Racing Association, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, and the Pro Bike & Sled Series held their annual Night of Champions at the Burlington Hotel & Conference Center in Burlington, Ontario – November 19th.
The event marked the seventh Night of Champions for the PMRA, the third such night for the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, and the first night for the PBSS.
Along with presentations for the top five competitors in each of the three drag race series, rookie, achievement, and sportsmanship awards for all series were presented, along with the John Massingberd Memorial Award.
With over 300 in attendance, series announcer Larry Satchell presided as Master of Ceremonies for the evening.
Before the top five in each series were presented with their awards, there were several other categories which were announced.
Bill Mehlenbacher of Bill Mehlenbacher Photography presented the Pro Bike & Sled Series Sportsmanship Award to Harvey Silverthorn, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Rookie of the Year Award to Billy White, and the Pro Modified Racing Association Sportsmanship Award to Jay Santos. and Bruce Biegler presented the PBSS Achievement Award, given to Bill Anderson, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Sportsmanship Award to Spencer Hyde, and the PMRA Achievement Award to Eric Latino. 
Dave Erauw of Dave Erauw Photography was on hand to present the PBSS Rookie of the Year Award to Dave Vandereyken, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series Achievement Award to Jeff Moser, and the PMRA Rookie of the Year Award to Rob Atchison.
Top Dragster drivers Katie Ward and Sydnie Hyde presented the Official of the Year award to Davey Robertson, who is the Director of Competition and Official Starter for all three of the series.
One of the highlights of the evening was the announcement by David Lange of Ideal Supply and NAPA Auto Parts to continue as the title sponsor for the Quick 32 Sportsman Series for another two seasons.
Another highlight of the night was the presentation of the John Massingberd Memorial Award to Bob Slack and the Slack Family for their commitment and dedication to auto racing in Canada.
Receiving the award was Bob Slack, a Caledonia-based businessman who purchased Cayuga Speedway in the late 1960s and for the next 25 years presented the best in oval track shows to Canadians.
“I have known Bruce since he was a young man,” noted Slack, who was referring to Director of Operations Bruce Mehlenbacher, who worked with the Slacks at Cayuga.
“This is a tough sport,” he continued. “And he has been very successful with it. I want to thank you for this award, and wish you all well in the future.”
The top five in the Pro Bike & Sled Series, Presented by Wiseco Performance Products, were Champion Randy Hope, followed by Dan Cryderman, Bill Anderson, James Miller, and John Orfanidis.
Presented by NAPA Auto Parts and Ideal Supply, the top five in the Quick 32 Sportsman Series were Champion Phil Sampson, followed by Jamie Bridge, Jeff Moser, Darrin Grubb, and Billy White.
For the PMRA Marydel Homes Champions Awards presented by Magnum Auto Parts, Patio Passport, and Global Emissions Systems Inc. the top five were Champion Vito Montesano, followed by Bruce Boland, Eric Latino, Jeff Roth, and Mark Nielsen.
PMRA, Quick 32 Sportsman Series and PBSS Director of Operations Bruce Mehlenbacher thanked all the teams and the race venues. He also thanked the sponsors of the series, emphasizing everyone’s importance in the Series.
The 2012 schedule for the PMRA, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, and the PBSS has been posted, and the first event for all three series will be the Victoria Day Challenge May 18-20 on the Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park.
For more information contact Bruce F. Mehlenbacher at
Photo Credit: Mike Goodwin ~