ADRL  Season Lid-lifter = Multiple 1st Time Winners

The first race of the 2012 American Drag Racing League (ADRL) season proved fitting as the Houston-area event produced a number of firsts in the winner’s circle for CarSafe Dragpalooza VIII…..

Out of the nine eliminator winners, eight of them were first-time victors in their respective classes, adding an extra sense of excitement to what ended up as a splendid kick-off to the 2012 ADRL Tour.

Alex Hossler served as a veteran in the winner’s circle, winning for the fourth time in supercharged Pro Extreme category after he beat Von Smith in the finals.  

Alex Hossler's team celebrates it's big P/X victory

That final round was however a weird one because after doing his burnout, Smith couldn’t get the car in reverse to get back to the starting line, handing the win to Hossler, who qualified No. 1 in a Tim McAmis Race Cars Camaro.  Hossler staged the car and took the green before shutting off. 

Hossler had been impressive earlier, delivering back-to-back runs in the 3.60s during the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds while driving the Al-Anabi Racing Chevy Camaro which is tuned by legendary crew chief, Frank Manzo.

Rickie Jones and Mike Castellana were victorious in the event’s other two “Pro Mod” orientated categories, Jones won the Pro Nitrous title (his first) while Castellana (previously a frequent circuit winner within the ADRL’s P/N class) prevailed to become the first winner for the ADRL’s new for 2012 (legal Pro Mod) division which is being presented by Aeromotive. 

Both the P/N and P/M fields were 8-car qualified affairs.

Mike Castellana competed in both Pro Nitrous and Pro Modified class eliminators

The first-time winners list continued with Alan Pittman (Mickey Thompson Extreme 10.5), Casey Stemper (Pro Extreme Motorcycle), John Pluchino (Extreme Pro Stock) and Marco Abruzzi (Summit Racing Equipment Top Sportsman) also taking victories. 

Also picking up a historic victory was Bo Butner, who went 5.862 at 119.46 miles per hour to become the first winner in the revolutionary new SuperCar Showdown which made its debut.  In an all-Ford final, Butner and his 2012 Mustang knocked off No. 1 qualifier Chris Holbrook to claim the victory. 

 Pro Extreme  P/X        
 Win: Alex Hossler NTR NSR 1st
 R/UP: Von Smith NTR NSR  
 Low ET: Jason Scruggs 3.653    
Top Speed: Von Smith   208.26  
 Bump Spot (16-cars):   3.831    
 Pro Nitrous  P/N          
 Win: Rickie Jones 3.836 195.79 1st
 R/UP: Bob Rahaim 4.039 155.49  
 Low ET: Rickie Jones 3.821    
 Top Speed: Rickie Jones   197/45  
Bump Spot (8-cars):   4.064    
Pro Modified (P/M)         
Win: Mike Castellana 3.978 192.58 1st (Inaugural)
R/UP: Jeff Naiser 8.525  51.56  
Low ET: Mike Castellana 3.852    
Top Speed: Mike Castellana   197.31  
Bump Spot (8-cars):   3.986    
Extreme Pro Stock Winner: John Pluchino 4.112 176.65  
Pro Extreme M/C Winner: Casey Stemper 4.084 171.88  
Extreme 10.5 Winner: Alan Pittman 4.045 192.88  
Top Sportsman Winner: Marco Abruzzi 4.379 156.90  
Super Car Showdown Winner: Bo Butner 5.862 119.46  

The ADRL introduced it's all new SuperCar Showdown eliminator during Dragpalooza VIII


2nd generation driver Rickie Jones earned his first victory in Pro Nitrous

Photos by: Roger Richards