PMRA Round #5 – Thunder by the Beach – Grand Bend, ON (Sept. 5th, 2010)

Co-Winner: Bruce Boland NTR NSR Curfew
Co-Winner: Mike Stawicki NTR NSR Curfew
Low ET: Mike Stawicki 5.770    
Top Speed: Mike Stawicki   255.75  
Bump Spot:   6.373    
Q32 Winner: Dan Aitken Jr.   TS 7.330 183.93  
Q32 R/UP: Bill Moloughney TD NTR NSR Broke

Co-Share Winners at PMRA Season Finale

In the fifth and final PMRA event of the 2010 season, held at the Grand Bend Motorplex’s Teamsters Union “Thunder by the Beach” event, race finalists Mike Stawicki and Bruce Boland shared the race honors as co-winners.

That end result came following a determination by officials that racing could not continue due to safety concerns around deteriorated track conditions.

No one was quicker or faster this season in PMRA then Mike Stawicki

With his success this season, Mike Stawicki, of Medina, NY, secured enough points to capture the PMRA Championship Point Award Series presented by Magnum Auto Parts and Patio Passport.

The driver of the G-Force Race Cars 1968 Firebird qualified number two in the Marydel Homes Qualifying Session for the final race, with a 5.958, 251.25 pass behind the terrific number one posting of Vito Montesano of Maple, Ontario, who recorded a 5.887, 238.53 with his ERD-powered 1968 Camaro.

Three-time PMRA champion Boland made the show with his B&B Racing 1963 Corvette in eighth spot but during eliminations showed his stuff.  Boland, from Hamilton, Ontario defeated Montesano in the first round and then number five starter Derek Hawker of Corbyville, Ontario, in the semi to advance to the final.  It was the first circuit win of the season for Bruce Boland.

3X PMRA Series Champion Bruce Boland was the event co-winner

Stawicki’s advance to the final round included wins over #7 qualifier Jack Grainy in the Grainy Brothers 1967 Camaro and then the #3 qualified ’41 Willys driven by Jeff Roth of Kitchener ON.

Stawicki ran the Top Speed and Low ET of the meet with a 5.803 at 255.75.

(Bruce Biegler Photos)