New IHRA Division to Showcase Western Canada 

IHRA announces Division 6 in Summit SuperSeries Tracks in western Canada and the United States comprise new division…

By:  Larry Crum

To accompany its rapid expansion westward, the International Hot Rod Association is proud to announce the formation of a new division in the Summit SuperSeries made up of tracks in western Canada and the north west portion of the United States.

Beginning in 2011, 10 tracks in three Canadian provinces and four U.S. states will begin immediate competition in Division 6 with the Summit SuperSeries grassroots racing series. Each track will be eligible to compete in the Summit Team Finals which will be held next season at Castrol Raceway in Edmonton, Alberta.

 “After meeting with these tracks and figuring out what was most important for them, we quickly realized that our sportsman programs really lined up with the goals of these tracks,” said Skooter Peaco, IHRA VP of Race Operations. “Focusing on sportsman racing and the opportunity the Summit SuperSeries and Summit Team Finals brings to this region is unprecedented.

“It is a big step for us as we continue to grow IHRA’s footprint. It further solidifies IHRA as the sanction organization of record in Canada, which is great, but most importantly it opens up a whole new dimension to our sportsman programs and creates opportunity for tracks and competitors in that region to create a division and programs that work for them.

“The opportunity to start a new division doesn’t come along every day and we are proud that these tracks chose IHRA due to our commitment to sportsman racing programs.”

The inclusion of the new division is a big step forward for the IHRA as it expands beyond its traditional borders and further cements its status as the sanctioning body of choice in Canada. Division 6 will also give tracks in the western portion of North America a chance to partake in the top grassroots racing program in the country.

The newly formed division will consist of Castrol Raceway and Race City Motorsports Park in Alberta, Gimli Motorsports Park in Manitoba, Thunder Mountain Raceway, Prince George Motorsports Park and Nl’akapxm Eagle Motorplex in British Columbia and Rocky Mountain Raceways, Alaska Raceway Park, Magic City International Dragway and Philips County Motorsports Dragstrip in the United States.

“Forming this new division has been in the making for two years and it is great to finally see it come to life,” said Phil Gingerich, IHRA Director of Track Development. “This will provide the west coast exposure to the benefits of IHRA racing and could result in more new tracks joining in the future.”

IHRA officials also haven’t ruled out the possibility of expanding the division to include the Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am series in the near future. For now, however, the focus is on getting the founding tracks of the new division up and running as members of the Summit SuperSeries and continue to grow the division over the next few years.

“This is a huge step and we want to make sure we deliver the programs that these member tracks want,” Peaco said. “We’re looking forward to the Summit SuperSeries growing by leaps and bounds in that region, as well as presenting that first every Summit Team Finals Ironman to the inaugural champions.”

For more information on the new division or to learn more about the Summit SuperSeries racing program, please visit

(Bruce Biegler Photos)