PMRA Round #3 Produces Familiar Winner!

The 3rd season session for the Pro Modified Racing Association produced a very familiar winning name as that circuit’s most consistent winner Bruce Boland (from Hamilton) once again emerged victorious…..

Boland roared to victory lane driving his fan favorite 1941 Willys during last weekend’s 3rd annual Canadian Nitro Nationals held at  Cayuga Dragway –Toronto Motorsports Park.  

Bruce Boland was very convincing while winning at Cayuga -- he notched low ET of the event too.

In addition to Boland’s PMRA win, Michael Hinbest drove his Top Dragster to his first win in Quick 32 Sportsman Series racing, and Pete Stewart took another win in the PBSS.  

Boland, who is a 3X PMRA circuit champion, and who was driving his supercharged Willys Pro Modified, took his first win of the season, defeating Kenny Lang of Grande Point,Manitoba in the final round. Boland also qualified number one for the race with a 6.005-second, 238.05-mph pass which was his fourth straight number one qualifying run in PMRA racing. 

In the final when Lang struggled after leaving the line, Boland motored on to a one-sided 6.008 secs  237.71 mph win over Lang’s 9.824, 94.14 mph.

Boland was also credited with low ET of the event – hitting a superb 5.931 secs while winning in round one.   

Rocky Dilecce and Derek Hawker both had impressive event efforts during the Canadian Nitro Nationals

The event semi-finalists featured two other Ontario-based racers with both Rocky Dilecce (Mississauga) and Eric Latino (Whitby) producing strong event placings in their supercharged Chevy Camaros.  

With the three events completed so far in 2012, Boland has now assumed the lead in the PMRA with 838 points passing Jeff Roth who now sits 2nd after a very surprising DNQ at Cayuga.  3rd is Jack Grainy of North Tonawanda,New York with 797 points.

Hinbest, of Orangeville,Ontario, marched through a very quick field of Top Dragster entries (6.960 secs bump – 16 cars) in the Quick 32 Sportsman Series to meet up with Top Sportsman driver Spencer Hyde in the event final. With his supercharged ERD-powered Mike Bos dragster, Hinbest left first and drove to a 6.551, 198.09 win over the 7.043, 196.82 of the 1968 Camaro of Hyde, from Stratford, Ontario.  

On his way to the final, Hinbest, who qualified number four, took out Top Dragster finalist Bill Moloughney of Shawville, Quebec. VictorPuglia of Clarence Center, NYand Brody VanDerGeld of Cambridge, Ontario were semi-finalists. 

Spencer Hyde won the TS side of the Q32 program driving his "all throttle" Camaro -- a former Rickie Smith Pro Mod car

On the Top Sportsman side, Hyde, who also qualified fourth, met up with and defeated the supercharged 1957 Chevy of Paul Martin of Breslau,Ontarioin the class final. Darrin Grubb of Pine River,Ontario and Bob Bauer Jr of Elma,NY were semi-finalists. 

After qualifying 13th in the field, Pete Stewart rode his Pro Bike Suzuki GSXR to the PBSS win over Milton, Ontario’s Ted Glinny with his Pro Bike Kawasaki Ninja. Stewart, of  Toronto,ON, ran a 9.47 at 145.67 to best Glinny’s 8.467 at 154.74. The win was Stewart’s second in PBSS racing. 

Jack Grainy hit a career best speed of 251.77 mph to take top mph at Cayuga

Event Essentials:  Canadian Nitro Nationals (June 22-24th, 2012) Cayuga ON  

Winner: Bruce Boland 6.005 238.05  
R/UP: Kenny Lang 9.824 94.14  
Low ET: Bruce Boland 5.931    
Top Speed: Jack Grainy   251.77  
Bump Spot:   6.240    
Q32 Winner: Mike Hinbest 6.551 198.09 TD
Q32 R/UP: Spencer Hyde 7.043 196.82 TS
PBSS Winner: Pete Stewart 9.47 145.67 Pro Bike
PBSS R/UP: Ted Glinny 8.467 154.74 Pro Bike


The PMRA's most winning driver - Bruce Boland and his talented crew visited victory lane once again.

The next event for the PMRA will be held during the IHRA Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals at the Grand Bend Motorplex July 20-22.

Posted by:  Bruce Biegler & Tim Miller (Photos by:  Bruce Biegler & Brennan Shortall)