ANDRA Fuchs Australian Nationals – Sydney NSW (Sep. 10-12th, 2010)

ANDRA Series Name ET MPH  
Top Fuel        
Winner: Darren Morgan 4.700 321.35  
R/UP: Bob Shepherd 9.931 156.17  
Low ET: Phil Read 4.571    
Top Speed: Phil Lamattia   326.24  
Bump Spot:   5.138    
Top Alcohol        
Winner: Aaron Hambridge 5.607 251.86  
R/UP: Wayne Newby 5.680 226.85  
Low ET: Gary Phillips 5.548    
Top Speed: Gary Phillips   258.07  
Bump Spot:   5.929    
Top Doorslammer        
Winner: Robin Judd 5.931 244.65  
R/UP: Maurice Fabietti NTR NSR  
Low ET: Robin Judd 5.860    
Top Speed: Mark Belleri   249.16  
Bump Spot:   6.326    
Top Bike        
Winner: Chris Matheson 6.149 216.65  
R/UP: Geoff Redgrave 8.463 167.72  
Low ET: Chris Matheson 6.111    
Top Speed: Chris Matheson   216.65  
Bump Spot:   9.833    
Pro Stock Car        
Winner: Dave Newcombe 7.131 192.66  
R/UP: Aaron Tremayne 7.086 192.30  
Low ET: Scott Porter 7.059    
Top Speed: Nick Xerakias   194.13  
Bump Spot:   7.180    
Pro Stock Bike        
Winner: Michael Gilbertson 7.364 178.14  
R/UP: Phil Howard NTR NSR  
Low ET: Andrew Babcock 7.253    
Top Speed: Peter Cochrane   180.21  
Bump Spot:   7.660    
Sportsman  Winners:        
Super Gas Joe Catanzariti   Modified Bike Daniel Browne
Super Street Darren Kellaway   Modified Kelly Corbett
Super Sedan Mark Harding   Comp Bike Corey Scholes
Super Compact Rocky Rahayem   Comp Mike Nola
Super Stock Nino Cavello   Jr. Dragster Hayley MacKay
Supercharged Outlaws Andrew Hodgson      

Fuchs Australian Nationals Kick off 2010/11 Series

 Courtesy of: Phil Blondel — 

 The Fuchs Australian Nationals, the first event of the new 2010/11 season calendar, culminated with some amazing final rounds of eliminations.

Top Fuel — Was full of surprises when Phil Read, Andrew Cowin, Allan Dobson and current Aussie Champ Martin Stamatis were all eliminated in the first round of competition.

First it was Terry Sainty’s great 5.16 that knocked out Read’s 8.01 after Read’s struck the tyres and then lost a blower. The next big name to exit the field was Andrew Cowin after Bob Shepherd’s coasting 7.14 got the better of Cowins pedaling 7.43. Then came Stamatis, who ran a troubled 6.68 to lose against Darren Morgan’s 5.89. In the final pairing of the first round , Phil Lamattina knocked out Allan Dobson’s slowing 5.00 as Dobbo smoked the tyres at 1000ft allowing Lamattina the win with a 4.75/312.

In the semis, Morgan won with a 7.8 when Sainty had troubles staging, while on the other side of the ladder, the upsets continued where Shepherd eliminated Lamattina with a quicker 5.01 to Lamattina’s 5.10.

The finals saw Bob Shepherd make it just in the nick of time. His crew doing last minute adjustments to the engine whilst towing at a rapid rate to the start line. Darren Morgan, in order to have a paired final, displayed good sportsmanship by patiently awaiting Shepherds arrival. All Shepherd’s efforts were to no avail as Morgan was far too strong, laying down a 4.70 second time to win the event as Shepherd turned the tyres and coasted on through for a 9 second time.

Top Doorslammer – Round one competition saw Mark Belleri advance with a 6.16 against Sean Mifsud’s 6.29. Robin Judd ran a 6.48 solo run after Steve Dupond could not start. Maurice Fabietti ran an awesome 5.89 to progress with Tony Defelice only managing a 6.57. Gary Phillips progressed in his Studebaker with a 6.08 after Deno Brijeski slowed to a 6.67.

Top Doorslammer Winner - Robin Judd

 The semis saw Judd win again with a 6.00 after he beat Belleri’s troubled 9.02. Fabietti then had the ride of his life when a supercharger let go at half track producing a massive fireball in the braking area from leaking oil. The car finally coming to a stop with a nudge of the wall. Fabietti still carded a 7.1 second time which was good enough to beat Phillips who was taken out of competition after producing a troubled a 14.2. Fabietti was OK in the incident.

It was a one-car show though for the Final, and it was Robin Judd who took the win with another super consistent 5.93 after Fabietti could not show as a result of damage incurred in the previous round.

Top Alcohol – Produced some very quick times. Upsets continued though when Gary Phillips was eliminated in the first round after shaking and crossing the centerline, narrowly missing Madill, allowing Paul Madill to take the round. Rick Gauci and Wayne Newby were the next pair up  and although Gauci ran a good 5.76, it just wasn’t enough to hold off Newby’s super quick 5.57. Steven Ham’s Funny Car was next to progress to the semi finals after his 5.63 eliminating Steve Read’s 6.00. Next up, Adam Marchant ran a 5.74 but was put back on the trailer after Aaron Hambridge ran an amazing 5.50 to advance into the semi’s.

Newby met with Ham in the first pairing of the semi’s. Newby, although some what troubled, won with a 5.91 to Ham’s 6.47. In the other pairing, Madill did not show allowing Hambridge’s 5.62 to advance into the Final.

In an awesome Final race, both dragsters were on pace and it was Hambridge the winner with a 5.60 to Newby’s wheel-standing and oh so close 5.68 secs.

Pro Stock Car – The naturally aspirated Pro Stock sedans put on a great show with 16 cars in the first round. In the first pairing, Aaron Tremayne was sent home with a 7.14 while Dave Newcombe advanced with a 7.09. Next up Denis Whiting ran a 7.11 to eliminate Peter Ridgeway’s troubled 7.46. Aaron Tremayne ran a great 7.07 to advance against Wayne Daley’s super close but losing 7.10. The upsets continued when John Barbagallo’s 7.23 lost against Jason Hedges’ 7.12. Lee Bektash ran a slower 7.2 against Michael Ali, but advanced after Ali red lit. Nick Xerakias advanced with a 7.25 against Bill Kotsias’ 7.31.Top qualifier Scott Porter showed consistency running a 7.10 to win against Ian Brown’s red light.

Pro Stock Champion -- Aaron Tremayne

With eight cars left for round two Newcombe got a win first up with a holeshot 7.10 against Porter’s quicker but slower reacting 7.09. Tremayne went 7.08 to win after Tucker did not leave the start-line. Whiting also advanced against Xerakias with a 7.19 and after Xerakias also did not leave the line. Bektash could not front as a result of engine damage suffered in the previous round, allowing Hedges 7.19 to progress into the next round.

The semi’s paired Tremayne with Whiting. Whiting hung a cherry on the tree giving the win to Tremayne with 7.10 . The other pairing saw Newcombe’s consistency continue with a 7.09 to eliminate Hedges’ 7.12.

It was Aaron Tremayne all the way in the final though stepping up a notch and running a 7.08 against Newcombe’s close and chasing 7.13.

Top Bike — In round one, Chris Matheson had a solo to advance after Phil Parker did not stage. Troy Maclean ran a good 7.18 to win against Mick Murray’s 7.64. Geoff Redgrave advanced over Chris Porter. The final pairing saw Craig Bonwick win with a 7.64 over Dennis Grant’s 7.75.

The semi-finals saw Matheson on another 6.11 solo after Maclean had troubles in the burnout and shut off. Redgrave got a free ride to the finals  after Bonwick could not fire.

The final saw Matheson run a strong 6.14 to win the event. Redgrave had troubles on his 8.43 pass but was happy enough to finish runner up to Matheson.

Pro Stock Motorcycle — The first round saw Peter Cochrane advance with a 7.50 against Glen Wooster’s losing 7.84. Michael Gilbertson ran a 7.68 to win against Lachlan Ireland’s red lighting 7.70. Andrew Badcock went 7.27 to advance against Mark Hancock’s 7.82 and Phil Howard reacted quicker to win his round with his 7.53 against Maurice Allen’s slower reacting but quicker 7.49.

The semi’s saw Gilbertson advance with a 7.33 against Cochrane’s 7.40 whilst  Phil Howard went 7.38 to win against Badcock’s 7.49.

The Final was set to be a ripper, however Howard shut off giving Gilbertson the win with a 7.36 secs at 178.14 mph.

(Photos by: Daniel Ward)