Despite Weather – PMRA Season Wraps  

By:   Tim Miller

The chase for the 2010 Pro Modified Racing Association season championship ended last weekend with a new champion while a former champion scored his first event win of the season….

In the fifth and final PMRA event, held at the Grand Bend for the Teamsters Union “Thunder by the Beach” event, race finalists Mike Stawicki and Bruce Boland shared the race honors as co-winners.

With his success this season, Mike Stawicki, of Medina, NY, secured enough points to capture the PMRA Championship Point Award Series presented by Magnum Auto Parts and Patio Passport.

The driver of the G-Force Race Cars 1968 Firebird qualified number two in the Marydel Homes Qualifying Session for the final race, with a 5.958, 251.25 pass behind the terrific number one posting of Vito Montesano of Maple, Ontario, who recorded a 5.887, 238.53 with his ERD-powered 1968 Camaro.

Three-time PMRA champion Boland made the show with his B&B Racing 1963 Corvette in eighth spot.

Boland, from Hamilton, Ontario defeated Montesano in the first round and then number five starter Derek Hawker of Corbyville, Ontario, in the semi to advance to the final.

3X Series Champion Bruce Boland earned his first PMRA season win

Also in the first round, Mike Stawicki defeated number seven qualifier Jack Grainy in the Grainy Brothers 1967 Camaro. It was the first showing for the veteran PMRA team from North Tonawanda, NY this season. On this pass, Stawicki ran the Top Speed and Low ET of the meet with a 5.803 at 255.75.

In the semi-final, Stawicki took out third qualifier Jeff Roth of Kitchener, Ontario. The 1941 Willys team has had some ups and downs this year, but was in good shape at this event, posting a 6.087 in qualifying.

Other first round action included Sam Andreacchi of Toronto, Ontario, fresh from a win of the previously-delayed PMRA race, who qualified his Paul Wolf Lighting & Electric Supply Chevy Nova in sixth, but fell victim to Jeff Roth, while Derek Hawker won over Mark Nielsen of Brantford, Ontario, who qualified fourth with his 1968 Camaro.

Prior to the Sunday season conclusion, racing was completed for the rescheduled Stratford Specatcular event that was originally pegged during August.  Sam Andreacchi and Dan Aitken emerged victorious in that race….

Winning the PMRA final was Sam Andreacchi of Toronto, Ontario, and Dan Aitken Jr of Belle River, Ontario won the Quick 32 Sportsman Series final.

Sam Andreacchi won the rain deferred Stratford Spectacular PM title

Sam Andreacchi was pitted against Mike Stawicki of Medina, NY, for the delayed final, which was held during the Teamsters Union “Thunder by the Beach” event at Grand Bend. Sam Andreacchi had a solo pass with his 1969 Chevy Nova, as Stawicki had problems in firing up his 1968 Firebird before his burnout. Andreacchi, who claimed his second PMRA Pro Modified win, ran a 6.262-second, 225.50-mph in the final.

After going through the semi-finals, Aitken, in his Top Sportsman Ford Mustang, was paired up against the Top Dragster of Johnny Hipwell of St Catharines, Ontario. Aitken’s winning pass was a 7.326, 178.21 over Hipwell’s 7.271, 173.51. The victory was the second for Aitken in Quick 32 Sportsman Series competition.

Dan Aiken -- from Belle River ON -- scored in Q32 TS

In Top Dragster final, Hipwell eliminated Buddy Forrest of Rochester, NY, while Aitken eliminated Darryl McMillen of Goderich, Ontario in the Top Sportsman final.

Final elimination rounds for the last Quick 32 Sportsman Series presented by NAPA Auto Parts event were delayed during the recent Teamsters Union “Thunder by the Beach” race at the Grand Bend Motorplex.  These finals will take place this Saturday, September 11, at TMP’s Cayuga Dragway.

 Pro Modified Racing Association 2010 Championship Point Award Series
(Presented by Magnum Auto Parts and Patio Passport) Final Standings

1-Mike Stawicki-1324
2-Derek Hawker-1274
3-Eric Latino-1228
3-Bruce Boland-1228
5-Sam Andreacchi-1223
6-Gary Irving-1184
7-Jeff Roth-1181
8-Jack Brohman-1157
9-Mark Nielson-1144

Mike Stawicki was a tower of power in PMRA this season

10-Dave Earhart-1127
11-Wayne Nielsen-1121
12-Joe Boniferro-1112
13-Terry Brown-1067
14-Paul Noakes-894
15-Vito Montesano-876
16-Richard Lojko-511
17-Tony Piselli-501
18-Ike Maier-428
19-Dave Kulik Jr.-406
20-Mike Cusimano-405
21-Jack Grainy-220
22-Gary Mater-206
23-Steve Legare-200
24-Frank Pompilo-200
25-Jason Kalso-199
26-Luis Custodio-0
26-Jay Santos-0

The PMRA and Quick 32 Sportsman Series Championship Point Award Series winners will be honored at the “Night of Champions” on Saturday, November 13, 2010 at The Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

(Bruce Biegler Photos)