DSE Crowns Season Champions

The sixth and final event weekend of the DSE Sportsman racing took place September 13th and 14th at Toronto Motorsports Park, and with NHRA Nationals Dragster Wally trophies along with valuable points for those competing in the Points Series, the stakes could not have been any higher for competitors….

Saturday’s racing schedule was set to run points race number eleven for the Series as well as the NHRA National Dragster Challenge, however un-seasonably cold temperatures and heavy morning rain made the racing surface impossible to dry and be safe to race on.

Super Gas winner - Chris VanBaalan

Chris VanBaalen took home his second career NHRA Wally, this time in Stefko Racing Engines Super Gas

HeadsUpRacer.com Quick 16 presented by Lowdown Hot Rods saw a strong field of 18 vehicles attempt to qualify on Sunday. After two rounds of qualifying and three rounds of racing a classic Door Car versus Dragster would be set up where both drivers would be competing in their second final that day with Chris Vanbaalen taking on K.C Kovac. The Door car of Vanbaalen would take the head start over the dragster; however, the final would be decided on the starting line where Chris would narrowly go red by -.003 handing the win to Kovac.

Dustin Taylor took home his first Career DSE Modified Win and NHRA Wally on Sunday driving the DTL Racing Team Malibu.

The Renegade Race Fuels Super Pro final would see Quick 16 Wally Winner K.C Kovac looking to double up on the day and take out Andrew Stirk and his Super Gas style 1963 Corvette Roadster. Stirk had locked up his first DSE Super Pro Points title the round before, and in the final, he would not be denied the Wally Trophy, taking home his second Wally of the season when Kovacs lit the red-light bulb on the hit.

Andrew Stirk won his fourth DSE Super Pro race in 2014 to clinch the NHRA Wally and the Points Title

Andrew Stirk won his fourth DSE Super Pro race in 2014 to clinch the NHRA Wally and the Points Title

Hill racing/ ATI Performance Products Modified Eliminator would start Sunday off with over 50 cars taking the tree in round one. After five tough rounds of competition veteran racer Tony Valerio in his class, legal Stocker would be taking on first time finalist Dustin Taylor in the DTL Racing Malibu. Young Dustin would take a narrow reaction time lead on Valerio, and use every bit of that advantage to hold off the slightly faster Camaro to take the win and the NHRA Wally.

Rounding out the classes for the Sunday was the Corriveau Concrete Forming Supplies Jr Dragster category. The Sunday Final round saw series newcomer Maddison Zonta taking on newly crowned two time DSE Jr Champion Emily Ramundo. Maddison would take the handicapped head start, but it would be Emily who would win the reaction battle and eventually the race, pushing Maddison into a double breakout.

Junior Dragster Champion - Emily Ramundo

Junior Dragster Champion – Emily Ramundo

By Sunday night point totals had been tabulated and four new champions and two repeating champions had been crowned, with Roger Demers repeating as Street Eliminator Champion and Emily Ramundo repeating as Jr Dragster Champion. Taking the inaugural Quick 16 Championship is Tom Bene, the new Super Bike/Sled Champion is Ray Philp and taking both the Modified Eliminator and Super Pro Points titles was Andrew Stirk.

Posted by:  Andrew Stirk

Photos by:  Stacee Kenington