DSE Series Opener Results

The 2nd Annual Dilts Piston Hydraulics Season Opener marked the opening race weekend for the DSE Sportsman Racing Series in the 2013 season….

Over 125 of Ontario’s best Sportsman Bracket racers converge onto Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park.

Saturdays Racing started late when scattered showers forced the start time back to 4 pm, however with clearing skies and a good forecast for the evening, racers hit the track running 1/8th mile and produced some fantastic Saturday night racing.

Costible vs Gervais in Frantic 14 Door Car Qualifying Session 1 Sunday

Two reigning Champions from last season wasted little time in 2013 placing their names back on top of the list of contenders. Both Pete Stewart in the DSEAutomotive.ca Super Bike/Sled class and Steve Ferstl in Renegade Race Fuels Super Pro category, took Saturday victories in their respective classes with Stewart defeating Stew Shields and Ferstl winning a close double breakout over Brad Redford.

The debut of the all-new HeadsUpRacer.com Frantic 14 found new competitor to the Sportsman Racing Series, Brandon Barker laying claim to the inaugural class win by defeating Matt Costible in a classic Doorcar vs. Dragster Final. Saturdays #1 Qualifier on the Dragster side of the ladder was Joe Passero, while Steve Parkhurst took the honours on the Door car side.

Corriveau Concrete Forming supplies Jr Dragster category saw a record season opening attendance of 19 Jr’s,  however at the end of the day Haley Baker emerged victorious winning her first Jr Dragster class  win ever over a red lighting Drew Passero.

Dilts Piston Hydraulics Modified saw a very familiar face in Harry Olsen and his 1966 Mustang reach the Toronto Motorsports Park winner circle Saturday, where he won a close double red-light Final round against Bill Thompson and his TNT fabrications 1969 Dart.

Performance Improvement Street Eliminator started the 2013 season with a new title sponsor as well as multiple rule changes which included the use of a staggered start .600 Pro Tree. Mike Goudreau wheeled his 2010 Chevrolet Corvette through a very difficult field to face off against Dennis Boyko in the Final Round. Boyko took the starting line advantage, however Goudreau was able to push him out and take the double break out victory.

Sunday Event winners, Runner-ups and specialty prize winners were:


Winner        #54 John Chittenden   1987 Grand National   RT: .026  D/I: 8.97  ET: 9.048

Runner up #23A Brian Hampson    1998 Chevy S10       RT: .092   D/I: 9.99  ET: 10.037

Semi            #2322 Darrel Fraser

HeadsUpRacer.com FRANTIC 14

Winner    #1809 Bob Jennings    2009 M&M                 RT: -.005   D/I: 4.76  ET: 4.749

R/U           #Steve Ferstl                 2008 S&W                  RT: -.004   D/I: 4.91  ET: 4.914

Semi        #1241 Pete Maduri Jr          #1791  Mike Newman

Door-Car #1 Qualifier         #327 Steve Corriveau               E.T  4.633     MPH: 154.13

Dragster  #1 Qualifier         #1343 Rob Hachie                     E.T  4.339     MPH: 167.28

Saturday Renegade Fuels Reaction Time Challenge Winner  #T174 Steve Ferstl  RT .000

Sunday Renegade Fuels Reaction Time Challenge Winner  #1380 Becky Ray  RT .000

Winner    #55 Daniel Barker    2008 Mike Boss               RT: .104   D/I: 8.00  ET: 8.014

R/U           #122x Gillian Bishop                                            RT: .152   D/I: 7.90  ET: 7.885

Semi        #3254 Matteo Ramundo


Winner    #6120  Scott Acomb       1968 Nova         RT: .040   D/I: 6.43  ET: 6.623

R/U           #1966 Harry Olsen       1966 Mustang     RT: -.010   D/I: 6.26  ET: 6.270

Semi       #5995 Ken Dennis

Jennings Racing/Greenlight Property Maintenance  Bounty Hunter Award Winner –  #6120 Scott Acomb  $75 


Winner    #81x Dale Gauthier          1981 Camaro Z28       RT: .008   D/I: 6.39  ET: 6.393

R/U          # Joe Passero            2010 American Dragster  RT: -.008   D/I: 4.74  ET: 4.746

Semi        #329T Andrew Stirk                 #1933 Tim Knight

Jennings Racing/Greenlight Property Maintenance  Bounty Hunter Award Winner –  #3959 Wayne Sipos  $75


Winner    #8515 Lyle Elliot          1973 Kawasaki     RT: .052   D/I: 5.50  ET: 5.546

R/U           #47 James Goudreau      2007 F1000     BROKE

Semi        #3 Pete Stewart   #333 Paul Huddleston 

Renegade Race Fuels and Lubricants “Weekend Double Entry Prize” winner:

Wayne Sipos- 7 Round wins over 2 days in the TNTSS and  Renegade Race Fuels Super Pro!

(***Awarded to Racer who double enters and wins the most rounds over 2 days without winning a main event Race)

dse srs2-1 The next event in the DSE Automotive Sportsman Racing Series is the 2nd Annual Canada Day Spectacular June 28-30th at Toronto Motorsports Park which will be featuring  the HeadUpRacer.com Frantic 14  aswell as the Stefko Racing Engines 9.90 Super Gas category for both days.

More information on the DSE Sportsman Racing Series can be found at www.sportsmanracingseries.ca

Photo by:  Stacee Kenington