With NHRA Member Tracks across North America now kicking off their seasons, the long-running NHRA Summit Racing Series featuring E.T. Bracket Racing has commenced….ET-2

As has been the case since 2000, the season will culminate with the crowning of four NHRA Summit National Champions at historic Auto Club Raceway at Pomona during the Auto Club NHRA Finals.

The series, which boasts more than $1,000,000 in payouts throughout the year — with more than $600,000 up from grabs between the division finals and national championship – will provide the chance for four grassroots racers to earn the biggest title of their career and be crowned NHRA Summit Racing Series National Champions.

In 2015, the number of racers competing at and vying for a national championship title will increase to 32 as an eighth spot has been added to each of the four classes (Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman, and Motorcycle). A special drawing will take place later this year to determine which division will send the additional racer in each class.images

The winner of the drawing, chosen from among the Race of Champions winners from Divisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, as well as the event winners from Divisions 6 and 7, will advance to the national championship as the eighth competitor. As always, each of the division champions (the Race of Champions winners in Divisions 6 and 7) will advance and set the eight-car field.

This true grassroots program is open to virtually anyone with a car, truck, or motorcycle who wants to try their hand at drag racing at one of approximately 120 NHRA Member Tracks across North America.

More than 300,000 racers nationwide compete in a variety of classes at their local NHRA Member Tracks for points leading to track championships and the right to represent their track at one of seven division finals, with winners advancing to the national championship and the chance to earn the title of NHRA Summit Racing Series National Champion.

Nearly 3,500 racers will compete at the division finals, with 32 advancing to the national championship hosted at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona which includes a dinner banquet for them and their families at the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum prior to the racing action on the track. Eliminations are held on Sunday in conjunction with final eliminations for the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series and the Winner’s Circle celebration.

2015 NHRA Summit Racing Series Division and National Championship Schedule:

Northeast Division 1               Atco Raceway, Atco NJ                                                             Sept. 17-19
Southeast Division 2               Atlanta Dragway, Atlanta, Ga.                                                 Oct. 9-11
North Central Division 3        Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis                                         Sept. 18-20
South Central Division 4        Texas Motorplex, Dallas, Texas                                              Sept. 25-27
West Central Division 5          Heartland Park Topeka, Topeka, KS                                     Sept. 18-20
Northwest Division 6              Firebird Raceway, Boise, Idah                                                 Sept. 4-6
Pacific Division 7                    Auto Club Dragway Fontana, CA.                                             Oct. 2-4

Summit National Championship – Auto Club Raceway at Pomona, Pomona, CA.              Nov. 12-15

Posted by: Eric Lotz
DragRaceCanada File Photo