Canadian Circuit Celebration Night

Burlington Ontario hosts Night of Champions to honour drag racing teams in the PMRA and Quick 32 Sportsman and PBSS series’…

The 10th annual Night of Champions was held at the Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel and Conference Center in Burlington, Ontario to honor the winners in the Pro Modified Racing Association, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, and the Pro Bike & Sled Series.


Teams from all three drag race series were on hand to accept their awards for the final event of the 2014 season. The PMRA has now celebrated its 10th season of operation, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, presented by NAPA Auto Parts, its sixth season, and the PBSS, presented by Wiseco Performance Products, its fourth season.

The night included talks from several drag racing and media personalities, along with the naming of two new champions. On hand were several Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame Inducted members, including Bob Slack, Norris McDonald, editor of the Toronto Star Wheels, and Bruce Mehlenbacher, who is not only Director of Operations for all three series, but was inducted into the CMHF several years ago along with his family. John Waldie was also on hand and spoke to the audience about his involvement in the sport.

Highlights of the evening included thank-you speeches from several of the competitors:

Thanks go to my parents and my friends for wearing the crazy tu-tus every weekend we raced, said Pro Sled rider Jessica Tourloukis, who placed fifth in PBSS Championship Point Award Series, and has become a familiar sight at tracks wearing her unique tu-tu on top of her race suit when charging down the quarter-mile with her sled.

I love coming to the events, she continued. It is a great series.

PBSS champ Dan Cryderman, who took the title for the second year in a row, was also pleased with the series in 2014.

What a couple of years, said the Pro Bike rider. Thanks go out to Wiseco Performance Products and Bruce (Mehlenbacher) and company. It is a pleasure to come out and race in such a well-organized series. I also want to thank Jeremey (Van Bastelaar), he does everything but ride the bike. I can’t say enough thanks to him.

Several teams from the Quick 32 Sportsman Series were also complimentary.PMRA-10th-logo-250px-2

This has been an awesome series, noted Top Dragster driver Glen Vardy, who finished fourth in points in 2014. I want to thank NAPA Auto Parts and my crew who put up with hell this year. And I look forward to next year.

Finishing as the Top Dragster team in points this year, and placing second overall, Tony Positano had his best year to date, and gave a nod to the other teams he competed against.

I want to congratulate the other teams, said Positano. I was getting worried, referring to the level of competition that kept the racers on their toes all season.

Positano was also appreciative of the way the series worked with the teams. I am proud to be a part of the Quick 32 Sportsman Series. Bruce, thanks for listening.

Winning the title this year was rookie driver Jon Schmid with his Top Sportsman entry. He could not attend, but was represented by fellow Top Sportsman driver Bob Bauer and family.

Third-place PMRA finisher Derek Hawker told the audience what racing to him is all about.

I want to keep this rolling, he said. It is lots of fun and I like fun.

Last to take the podium was PMRA champion Jeff Roth. After an eight-year run in the series, the Roth family succeeded for its first title.

Thanks to all my crew, I have some great talent around me, noted Roth, who drives the 1941 Willys Pro Modified. And I have to thank my parents who have given me the opportunities.

I also have to thank Bruce and the whole PMRA group, he continued, and I look forward to seeing you all in 2015.

Along with the crowning of the champions, there were several other awards in all three series, plus some special awards presented, as follows:

Pro Modified Racing Association ~ Wiseco Piston Award ~ Jeff Roth
Pro Modified Racing Association ~ Rookie of the Year Award ~ Alan Martorino
Pro Modified Racing Association ~ Sportsmanship Award ~ Derek Hawker
Pro Modified Racing Association ~ Achievement Award ~ Bruce Boland
Quick 32 Sportsman Series – Bear’s Performance Products Dash 4 Cash Award ~ Jon Schmid
Quick 32 Sportsman Series Wiseco Piston Award ~ Sam Christian
Quick 32 Sportsman Series ~ Achievement Award ~ Glen Vardy
Quick 32 Sportsman Series ~ Sportsmanship Award ~ Everitt Racing
Quick 32 Sportsman Series ~ Rookie of the Year Award ~ Jon Schmid
Pro Bike & Sled Series ~ Rookie of the Year Award ~ Mark Catanzaro
Pro Bike & Sled Series ~ Sportsmanship Award ~ Jessica Tourloukis
Pro Bike & Sled Series ~ Achievement Award ~ John Orfanidis
Series Official of the Year Award ~ Spencer Mehlenbacher
The John Massingberd Memorial Award ~ Tim Miller

The Pro Modified Racing Association (PMRA), enters its 11th season of popular Pro Modified racing in 2015, while the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, presented by NAPA Auto Parts, will begin its seventh season, and the Pro Bike & Sled Series (PBSS) presented by Wiseco Performance Products, begins its fifth year of operation. Several times during the race season all three series compete at the same weekend events, offering a colourful, diverse, and exciting package of drag racing action.

Posted by:  Tim Miller