Edmonton’s RAD Torque Raceway hosts a milestone version Rocky Mountain Nationals…

Two decades after the inaugural IHRA Rocky Mountain Nationals, the 20th anniversary of the event did not disappoint.

With an entry list highlighted by six Nostalgia Nitro Funny Cars, four Fuel Altereds, a strong field of ten West Coast Pro Modifieds and a full bracket program, spectators this past weekend were treated to a fantastic show of drag racing.

Notable entries this weekend included longtime Alberta funny car pilot David Brant who debuted a brand new 70.5 Camaro body on his fan favourite “Warchief” entry. On the car’s first full pass on Friday night the car had an unfortunate light scrape with the right wall, but Dave’s crew worked tirelessly through the night and were able to get the car repaired to make Saturday’s scheduled runs.

David Brant debuted his new 1970 Camaro nitro burner “Warchief” (above) but it was Ryan Hodgson (below) who raced his Firebird to the event victory.

Randy Bradford was in attendance with his iconic Fiat Fuel Altered, unfortunately on the first pass on Friday night a valve hung open, and a catastrophic boom shredded the blower and historic Fiat body. Thankfully Randy was okay, but the car was unable to return.

California’s Randy Bradford was one of four AA/FA cars that attended the Rocky Mountain Nationals.  His single run on Friday was rather ill-fated however evidenced by this dramatic capture submitted by Matt Derkach (Street Legal Photography)!

RAD Torque Systems also brought in NHRA Pro Stock points leader Dallas Glenn, who competed in Top Dragster on the weekend in a Chevy Reeves owned dragster, in addition to racing Chevy in a grudge race on Saturday night. Dallas signed countless autographs throughout the weekend and the RAD Torque Raceway fans certainly appreciated seeing the NHRA star.

NHRA Pro Stock points leader Dallas Glenn raced this T/D at Edmonton.

Saturday night featured a burnout contest in support of the Burnout King Darrell Webb who was seriously injured in a crash at Rimbey earlier this summer. A $500 cash prize for the winner was donated by Diogo Concrete, which was matched by another $500 from the Ebertz Brothers. 6.90 index Alcohol Funny Car racer Scott Bourdin won the cash prize with his near full track burnout and Scott promptly donated his winnings to STARS Air Ambulance who had assisted transporting Darrell after his crash.

The event victory lane saw Ryan Hodgson and the Pacemaker Firebird claiming the Nitro Nostalgia Funny Car title, while JR Lazic won with the West Coast Pro Modifieds to extend his points lead.

The WCPM eliminator feature was won by JR Lazic in this ultra cool supercharged ’57 Chevy.

The next major feature races for RAD Torque Raceway are Hot August Night on August 9, followed quickly by the Just Send It Shootout on August 11-13.

Post & Photos by Louren Sansregret