JFR flexes it’s muscles in a big time way during NHRA’s annual stop near Houston….

John Force Racing made a statement this weekend at the 32nd annual Mopar Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals presented by Pennzoil when it claimed both nitro category victories with Brittany Force winning in Top Fuel and Robert Hight winning in Funny Car on Sunday at Houston Raceway powered by Pennzoil.

That statement? The crews at JFR are ready to play ball this year during the 2019 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season.

JFR teammates Brittany Force and Robert Hight emerged victorious at NHRA Houston

Brittany Force entered race day qualified No. 1 with hopes to repeat her win at Houston from a year ago. On her way to victory, she took out Top Fuel racers Cameron Ferre, Doug Kalitta, Clay Millican and finally three-time world champion Antron Brown in the final with her lap of 3.749-seconds at 302.14 mph in her Advance Auto Parts dragster.

“All of John Force Racing was on a mission this morning,” B. Force said. “My dad and I were No. 1, the first time father and daughter have ever qualified No. 1 at an event. That’s something very special my dad and I will share. We were looking for a win but to be able to do it with Robert Hight by my side in that Auto Club car, that’s pretty awesome.”

Brittany Force’s victory was the 9th of her young career.

In the Funny Car ranks, Hight picked up his third victory of the 2019 season in his AAA Texas Chevrolet Camaro SS Funny Car and his third career win at Houston. He defeated Jonnie Lindberg, 2018 Funny Car champ J.R. Todd, JFR owner and No. 1 qualifier John Force and finally Matt Hagan in the final with a lap of 3.941 at 310.84.

“I’m proud of [my team], never disbelieved in them,” Hight said. “That’s why we have three wins already this season because they’re so good. Down at the other end, they said, ‘How do you keep your team in check?’ Really, it’s the other way around. They keep me in check. I’ve never seen a more focused group of individuals. They keep their heads down, work hard, don’t do a lot of talking and we got the job done.

“Brittany and I, this is the third time we’ve got to double-up. We seem to do really well together in these circumstances. It was really cool to be down there when she made the [turn off] and throw a bunch of Mello Yello on her car.”

In fuel FC – Robert Hight collected his career win #48

Houston marks the third JFR team double-up win in the nitro categories, all earned by B. Force and Hight. The first win came in 2016 in Gainesville and the second in 2017 in Dallas, the year the pair both went on to win championships in their respective categories.

The Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will have a weekend off before traveling to zMAX Dragway near Charlotte, N.C. for the NGK Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, April 26-28.

The Houston-area event also included season round #2 for the NHRA’s E3 Spark Plugs presented Pro Modified series.

That dynamic class featured some redemption when Georgia’s Steve Jackson beat Todd Tutterow in the Sunday finale.

Steve “Fast” Jackson was a convincing winner in Pro Mod.

Jackson and Tutterow met in the final at the Pro Mod season opener in Gainesville, resulting in Tutterow with a holeshot win over Jackson. This week in Houston, it was Jackson who claimed the win with his 5.675-second pass at 255.00 mph.

*For more detailed coverage on Pro Mod class racing from Houston – link to our VP Racing Fuels Pro Mod Portal subsection (coming soon): HERE

NHRA’s ferocious Top Fuel Harley class was also back in action as that M/T-presented category hosted it’s 4th event of the season.

North Carolina’s Jay Turner emerged victorious — when he rode his Lucas Oil sponsored machine to victory — earning the 10th “Wally” of his NHRA racing career.

Riding for Lucas Oil — Jay Turner earned his 10th career NHRA win in Top Fuel Harley racing

Turner won a trouble filled final round over Canadian Mike Scott (Calgary AB) as both riders were forced to shut off early — with Turner winning a 6.792 secs 163.63 mph to 7.027 secs 164.55 mph decision.

In qualifying, Turner had stunned the field with a tremendous 6.186 secs at 235.93 mph which was both low ET and top speed for the race.  He also defeated Bill Jackson and Rickey House in earlier round competition.

NHRA’s conventional 500 CID Pro Stock car class were not part of the 2019 Mopar Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals presented by Pennzoil event program — instead the race featured the first Mountain Motor “exhibition” eliminator of the season — with 10 machines entered.

John DeFlorian prevailed in the event’s added attraction Mountain Motor Pro Stock feature.

Class veteran John DeFlorian prevailed in that program racing his 2015 Chevy Camaro to victory. After winning over Rick Cowger and Dillon Voss, DeFlorian got a gift in the final when his opponent JR Carr turned on the red-light.

DeFlorian had entered the 8-car eliminator as the #1 seed after qualifying with a 6.255 secs ET.  Runner-up JR Carr (also in a Camaro) was credited with both low ET and top speed at 6.233 secs 227.80 mph.

The Lucas Oil Lowdown

Eliminations within NHRA’s backbone Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series cumulated with wins by Megan Meyer (in TAD) and Brian Hough (TAFC).

Megan, from Kansas, prevailed for her 7th career win (and 2nd of the season) when she defeated Tory Coughlin Jr in the all injected nitro car TAD final round — winning a 5.231 secs to 5.266 secs affair.

Brian Hough, who is from Oregon state, made the very best of his trip deep into Texas when he beat Annie Whitely in an all Camaro TAFC championship round. Hough’s win came from the #1 qualified slot and he also set low ET of the event at 5.407 secs.

The other Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series titles went to Pete Peery (Super Stock), Jacob Pitt (Stock), Vernon Rowland (Super Comp) and Robert Rowan (Super Gas). The event’s TD class (presented by Racing RVs.com) was won by Louisiana state-based racer Ross Laris.

Megan Meyer (top) and Brian Hough scored in the Lucas Oil Top Alcohol class categories.

Ross Laris’s Louisiana-based team prevailed in Top Dragster class competition.

Posted with files by NHRA Communications and Bruce Biegler

Photos (courtesy of NHRA) by Ron Lewis & DragRaceCanada files