Canadian drag racing impact from the V 18.0 edition of Mel Roth’s Street Car Super Nationals at Las Vegas Motor Speedway…..

A number of western Canadian racers made the trek to Vegas to compete, with several heads-up feature classes being won by Canadian drivers. 

Big Tire / No Time was one of the largest classes at the event, with 28 drivers competing in the class. With no qualifying times or speeds shown throughout the event, eliminations pairings are decided by chip draw, as opposed to the typical eliminations qualifying order and bracket. Kelowna’s Jordan Lazic was entered in the class, driving Dean Bettenson’s famous Bunker Junker ’57 Chevy. In order to be legal in the class the two ditched the big Pro Mod tire and ran a 10.5” wide tire, making their first test runs with the new combination on the Wednesday before the event. After hurting parts early in the weekend and using a borrowed transmission, Lazic was able to make it through five rounds of eliminations to be crowned the SCSN 18 Big Tire / No Time champion.

Kelowna’s Jordan Lazic driving Dean Bettenson’s famous “Bunker Junker” ’57 (from Red Deer) was popular winner at Las Vegas in the Big Tire/NT category!

Manitoba’s Jon Kreviazuk and his fan favourite full size Dodge pickup was also entered in Big Tire / No Time and won in round 1, before losing in round 2. BC’s Kham Schantz was also entered in the class but was unable to make the call in round 1.

Manitoba’s Jon Kreviazuk was a fan favourite entry racing his full size Dodge pickup!

Chilliwack’s Justin Gallant was entered in two classes on the weekend, as he competed in both X275, as well as Small Tire / No Time. Bouncing back after an unfortunate crash at this event last year, Justin and tuner Nick Duda made consistent A to B passes all weekend, including a personal best 4.33 and won in X275 to bring the championship north of the border. The pair attempted to double up and win Small Tire / No Time as well, however, were eliminated in the third round.

Justin Gallant (from Chilliwack BC) notched an enormous win in the X275 class with his Mustang!

Manitoba’s Pete Campbell was also double classed in the event, entered in both Pro 275 and XDR. Pete set the XDR fastest speed of the event with a 184.27 MPH blast and qualified second in XDR, before losing in the second round of XDR and the first round of Pro 275.

In Outlaw 10.5, Steve Nicholson qualified fourth in the 14 car field and won his round one matchup, before losing in round 2.

Canadians were well represented in the SCSN’s many bracket classes as well, as Devan Jansen and Kham Schantz were both entered in Super Index, Barry Stettner, Michael Chevrier, Devan Jansen, Dale Jansen in Open Comp, Trevor McDonald and Ross Walker competing in Non-Electronics, and Mike Lucas, Murray Hawker, Scott Yaremko, and Dave Burden running in Electronics. Dave Burden had the strongest run of any Canadian in the bracket classes, as he took his green Chevelle to the final round and came home with a runner up finish.

Other class winners included John Durden in Pro Mod, Rian Hayward in Outlaw 10.5, Tim Orello in Outlaw 8.5, Chris Alston in XDR, Michael Porter winning both Open Comp and Triple Index, John Lancaster in Mustang Madness, Kirk Hall in Super Index, Darin Taylor in Non-Electronics and Nick Pressimone in Electronics.

Post and photos by Louren Sansregret