ADRL Ohio Drags VI – Norwalk Ohio (Sep. 24-25th, 2010) 

 Pro Extreme  P/X        
 Win: Mick Snyder 3.951 170.21 1st
 R/UP: Alex Hossler 5.242   93.65  
 Low ET: Josh Hernandez 3.673    
Top Speed: Todd Tutterow   210.83  
 Bump Spot:   3.795    
 Pro Nitrous  P/N        
 Win: Jim Laurita 3.943 186.25 1st
 R/UP: Terry Housley 4.081 181.23  
 Low ET: Pat Stoken 3.862    
 Top Speed: Jim Halsey   194.41  
Bump Spot:   4.070    
Extreme 10.5 Winner: Chuck Ulsch 5.278 95.59  
Pro Extreme M/C Winner: Ashley Owens 4.039 178.28  
Extreme Pro Stock Winner: Cary Goforth 4.115 175.48  

Double-Up Wins Highlight ADRL Ohio Stop

By:  Josh Hachat  

Two of the top competitors in the American Drag Racing League (ADRL) showed exactly why they reign atop their respective classes during the 2010 Summit Racing Equipment Ohio Drags IV.

Extreme Pro Stock driver Cary Goforth and Pro Extreme Motorcycle rider Ashley Owens both won for the second time in two nights to stay No. 1 in their divisions, capping off a memorable double-race weekend at Summit Motorsports Park.

“To get two wins is just really, really awesome,” said Goforth, who won the rain-delayed  Dragstock VII on Friday. “Awesome won’t even cover it. This is just wonderful. You always dream about something like this, but you don’t always get it.”

Cary Goforth won 2X in at ADRL Norwalk

Two other drivers got a chance to celebrate for the first time in the ADRL, as Mick Snyder (Pro Extreme) and Jim Laurita (Pro Nitrous) both picked up their first career ADRL wins.  Chuck Ulsch picked up his third win of the 2010 season in Extreme 10.5 and Morgan Benfield got the win in Pro Junior Dragster.

In every respect, the Ohio Drags IV was a memorable event, in part because of Goforth and Owens’ continued dominance.

Owens won for an unprecedented eighth time this season and also became the first ADRL competitor in its history to win five straight races.

“You never take any of these for granted,” Owens said. “There’s so much that can happy, you just have to enjoy it.”

PXM racer Ashley Owens continued is dominating ADRL season

In getting his second double-win weekend this year, Owens handed more heartache to Canada’s Terry Schweigert (Abbotsford BC).  Owens went 4.03 in the finals, going a PXM-best 178.28 miles per hour to beat Schweigert in the finals for the fourth time in 2010.

Owens and his Fast by Gast team also had to overcome replacing the motor after the second-round run. It didn’t seem to bother him, as Owens went 4.09 in a semifinal victory.

Goforth was on point all weekend in XPS, reclaiming the points lead after winning Dragstock on Friday. He followed it up by going 4.11 to beat John Montecalvo in Saturday’s final.  Goforth went as quick as 4.05 and was consistently impressive for the second straight day in picking up his third win this season.

“I’ve got a good crew and that’s the truth,” Goforth said. “We had a consistent car, but it was also consistently faster and quicker than anybody out there this weekend.”

Snyder gave the capacity crowd at Summit Motorsports Park a thrilling show in the PX final, as he nearly crossed the center line before blowing a header in an electrifying run against Alex Hossler.

Mick Snyder (near lane) won his first career PX title

Snyder went 3.95, but couldn’t celebrate his first ADRL win until replays showed he didn’t move into the right lane.

“I wasn’t sure if I crossed or not. I knew I was close and I was waiting for someone to let me know,” Snyder said. “If you’re going to win, you might as well do it in spectacular fashion.”

Snyder went 3.66 in the first round and then had back-to-back 3.68s to reach the finals – including a victory against points leader Joshua Hernandez – ending his rookie season in PX in thrilling fashion.

The win made Laurita’s year, which, like Snyder, is also his first in the ADRL.

On a day filled with upsets and the unbelievable – points leader Rickie Smith was one of many top drivers who did not qualify for eliminations – Laurita hung around and went 3.94 to beat Terry Housley in the finals.

Laurita did his part, going 4.00 in the second round to beat close friend John Decerbo and adding another 4.00 in a semifinal win against Robert Mathis, who upset No. 1 qualifier Pat Stoken in the first round.

That was simply par for the course on a wild day in Pro Nitrous, where the top eight in points changed multiple times throughout the day.

“It was just perseverance,” Laurita said. “We shook on every pass, but we were able to get through it.”

Ulsch got a red-light win against Dan Millen in the Extreme 10.5 final, but he wasn’t about to turn it down after his team worked vigorously to repair his car after the semifinals.

Extreme 10.5 winner - Chuck Ulsch

Millen had set a new world E.T. record with a 3.78 and consistently ran in the low 3.80s during eliminations.  It was enough to get him into the top eight in the points standings in XTF, but Ulsch was the one with the Minuteman trophy afterwards.

“We were off here and Dan is the cream of the crop,” Ulsch said. “You couldn’t mess with it. But we’ve got (3.80s) in us and now we have a month to find it.”

Morgan Benfield became the first Pro Junior Dragster driver in ADRL history to win three races.

The ADRL closes out the 2010 season with the LenMar Motorsports ADRL World Finals VI, which feature the famous Speedtech “Battle For The Belts.” The top eight in each class qualify for a chance at a world title. The event takes place on Oct. 22-23 at Texas Motorplex in Ennis, TX.

(Photos by Bruce Biegler & Roger Richards)    Click HERE to view our ADRL season Photo Gallery