Final Round Fury for PMRA 

The very popular Eastern Canadian PMRA series wrapped up its 2012 season calendar with exciting back-to-back racing dates held at Grand Bend Motorplex over the past Labour Day weekend….

Saturday’s event schedule featured the completion of the rain-delayed “Community Weekend” event originally scheduled at Cayuga (August 4-5th).   Qualifying was completed at TMP Cayuga however all eliminations for the PMRA cars and its sister series’ Napa Quick 32 and PBSS were held at Grand Bend.

That event produced the first career win for Jay Santos from Halton Hills Ontario, a former Fast Street car racer who has come a long way in a short time in the Pro Mod category.

Driving his spectacular G-Force Race Cars ’69 Camaro Santos outgunned Derek Hawker’s Corvette in the final round after beating fellow Camaro racers Sam Andreacchi and Rocky Dilecce in earlier competition.

Jay Santos with series director and PMRA founder Bruce Mehlenbacher

 Event Essentials:   Cayuga Dragway “Community Weekend” (Sept. 1st

Winner: Jay Santos 6.187 237.58 1st
R/UP: Derek Hawker 6.439 226.81  
Low ET:        
Top Speed:        
Bump Spot:        
Q32 Winner: Jeff Moser 6.788 195.86 TD
Q32 R/UP: Dan Aiken 7.148 192.02 TS
PBSS Winner: Dan Crydermann 8.255 143.17  
PBSS R/UP: Alex Cassels 9.308 150.20  

Jeff Moser (from Waterloo) scored a convincing win in Q32 during Saturday’s schedule.

Sunday’s racing action featured a very timely win by Whitby’s Eric Latino who won big driving the “Team Green” Camaro that is jointly owned by Rob and Anne Sporring.

Eric Latino and his talented “Team Green” were all business at GBM — setting low ET and top speed during the “Thunder by the Beach” event.

 Eric beat Jay Santos in that event’s final round battle of supercharged Chevy Camaros and set low ET of the event while doing that at 6.029 secs.  

Eric’s event win which also included round wins over Rocky Dilecce and Derek Hawker vaulted him to the overall points Championship title for the PMRA this season*

*DragRaceCanada will have more details on that triumph in the near future.

Eric Latino’s event win on Sunday at Grand Bend also gave him the 2012 PMRA points championship title!

 Event Essentials:  Grand Bend Motorplex “Thunder by the Beach” (Sept. 2nd)

Winner: Eric Latino 6.029 237.27  
R/UP: Jay Santos 6.274 211.64  
Low ET: Eric Latino 6.029    
Top Speed: Eric Latino   240.83  
Bump Spot:   6.317    
Q32 Winner: Mike Hinbest 6.583 211.16 TD
Q32 R/UP: Spencer Hyde 7.051 194.09 TS
PBSS Winner: Brandon Satchell 8.669 145.46  
PBSS R/UP: Dan Cryderman 8.026 158.98  


Mike Hinbest won the season finale Q32 feature

Posted by:  Bruce Biegler  –   Photos by:  Brennan Shortall