Carinci Scores in New Turbo-Bird

It had  been six long years since John Carinci’s last win…..but that all changed during the OSCA’s most recent touchdown at Cayuga Dragway, Toronto Motorsports Park….

John’s last win had come behind the wheel of his famed Purple Hemi Cuda.  Now driving the ex-Mike Yedgarian Super Street 2002 twin turbo Pontiac Trans Am, Carinci took out Tony Presto in the first round as Presto had to lift after carrying the wheels 200′ out. 

John Carinci enjoyed early success with his recently acquired Firebird

Carinci would line up against the twin turbo ’69 Camaro of Steve Lazzaro, piloted by Mike Yedgarian in the finals of OSCS season race #2.  Yedgarian would go -.007 red to give the win to Carinci, who would have been tough to beat with his 6.70 to Yedgarian’s 6.74. 

Congrats to team Presto on the May rained out race victory as well as running their first ever 6 second pass.

EZ Street again would be a hotly contested class as Mark Azevedo and Steve Agiropolous would battle through the rounds and meet up in the finals.  Agiropolous would cut a perfect .000 light in the finals which would help him take the holeshot win as his 7.93 would beat the 7.87 of Azevedo.

EZ Street Winner - Steve Agiropolous

Darcy Cummins would break in qualifying giving the only other competitor in X275 Jeff Vance the win with his 2000 Camaro.

Wayne Mahoney would have a great first showing in OSCA Pro Stock as he and Matt Glassford met in the final round.  Glassford was consistent with his gorgeous ’72 Nova and would pull out the win running 8.47 to Mahoney’s 8.53.

With the payout doubled to $2000 to win Black Cat Pub Pro Street Bike, Bud Yoder would be back aboard the Ronnie Mitchell owned pink rocket 2010 turbo Hayabusa.  Mike Bayes would be in the other lane trying to steal a victory from the pink bike, which has seen 200 mph already this year in OSCA competition.  Bayes had been 7.37 in the semis’ but would have issues in the finals, ending his chances as Yoder would click off an easy 7.51 to take the win.

Other OSCA Category winners included:

8.90 W-Larry Dean  R/U-Rich Mason

9.90 W-Steve Schrans  R/U-Marc Carano

Tony Presto's ultra cool Chevy II

10.90 W-Mike Johnson  R/U-Lance Bisson 

11.90 W-Matt Stoangi  R/U-Dan Pepper

12.90 W-Brandon Silva  R/U-Craig Aitken

Open Comp W-Glenn Tovey  R/U-Lance Bisson

Pro Comp W-Marc Gervais  R/U-Marc Vezina

Bike/Sled Comp W-Pete Stewart

Posted by: Mark Ackert

For additional OSCA event photos click:  HERE