NHRA’s Camping World Drag Racing Series results from Thunder Valley in Tennessee…

Ron Capps tied Tony Schumacher for the most NHRA wins in Bristol Dragway history, picking up his sixth Funny Car win at the trackwith his Father’s Day triumph at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals.

Justin Ashley (Top Fuel), Aaron Stanfield (Pro Stock) and Jerry Savoie (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won at the ninth of 22 races during the 2022 NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series season.

Capps powered to the quickest run during every round of eliminations on Sunday in Bristol, including a pass of 3.984-seconds at 324.36 seconds in the final round in his 11,000-horsepower NAPA Auto Parts Toyota GR Supra to defeat Tim Wilkerson. It also marks the first win in Funny Car for the new GR Supra. Capps advanced to the final round with impressive victories against Paul Lee, No. 1 qualifier Robert Hight and defending event winner Alexis DeJoria. In the final, he made the only three-second run in eliminations on Sunday to earn his second this season and a remarkable 70th in the defending world champ’s outstanding career.

Ron Capps was dominating while winning his 70th career NHRA national event.

Tim Wilkerson reached the final for the first time this season by getting past Jack Wyatt, Chad Green, and John Force. Matt Hagan maintained the points lead in the class.

In Top Fuel, Ashley rolled to his second straight final round and finished the job on Sunday in Thunder Valley, going 3.813 at 325.30 in his 11,000-horsepower Phillips Connect powered by Vita C Shot dragster to defeat Shawn Langdon. It gives Ashley his second win this season and the fourth in his career, and his first victory at Bristol was a meaningful one with his father in attendance. Ashley, who qualified 14th but responded on raceday, got past Josh Hart, Doug Foley, and four-time defending world champ Steve Torrence to reach the finals before picking up the victory on Father’s Day.

Top Fuel winner – Justin Ashley

Shawn Langdon reached his first final in 2022 after knocking off Spencer Massey, No. 1 qualifier Mike Salinas and Antron Brown. Brittany Force maintained the points lead, as Ashley climbed to third.

In one of the wildest Pro Stock final rounds in recent memory, Stanfield outlasted Elite Motorsports teammate Erica Enders in the championship round, going 8.801 at 103.98 in his Janac Brothers Chevrolet Camaro. Stanfield got loose early in the run, but then Enders ran into trouble, suffering an engine explosion, and the young standout was able to chase her down to pick up the win on Father’s Day. It was Stanfield’s first win from the No. 1 position and also the first time winning in the final round against Enders, who was seeking her fourth straight win.
Stanfield got to the finals with victories against Wally Stroupe, Fernando Cuadra Jr. and Kyle Koretsky and then drove to his sixth career victory – and first at Bristol – to cap off an impressive weekend.

Pro Stock winner – Aaron Stanfield

Enders, who maintained the points lead by advancing to her fourth straight final, fifth this year and 66th in her career, knocked off Cristian Cuadra, Matt Hartford, and Dallas Glenn to set up the final round against her teammate.

After a mad dash to the starting line after an engine swap before the Pro Stock Motorcycle final round, Savoie won for the first time in 2022 on his White Alligator Racing Suzuki when Angelle Sampey went red. Savoie also left too soon by .010, but Sampey’s .052 red light handed the victory to Savoie. He reached the finals by taking out Eddie Krawiec, Joey Gladstone, and Angie Smith, and capped off an emotional day with his 14th career win and first at Thunder Valley.

Louisana’s Jerry Savoie won in PSM for the 14th time in his career

Sampey, who qualified No. 1, reached her first final round this year and 79th in her standout career with round wins against LE Tonglet, Ryan Oehler and Marc Ingwersen.

The Lucas Oil Lowdown
(Final Round Results)

Super Stock winner – Mike Crutchfield

Super Stock — Mike Crutchfield, Pontiac G5, 9.061, 148.54 def. Scott Libersher, Chevy Camaro, Foul – Red Light.

Stock Eliminator — Daren Poole-Adams, Chevy Camaro, 9.667, 136.66 def. Todd Ewing, Camaro, Foul – Red Light.

Super Comp — Shawn Langdon, Dragster, 8.893, 161.38 def. John Labbous Jr., Dragster, 8.862, 165.68.

Shawn Langdon won in Super Comp

Super Gas — Chris Lewis, Dadbod, 9.902, 166.27 def. Ausby Brewington, Mercury Zephyr, 9.897, 146.99.

Tyler Caheely, raced to the TS title in his Chevy Cavalier

Top Sportsman presented by Vortech Superchargers — Tyler Caheely, Chevy Cavalier, 6.811, 198.64 def. Cole Prejean, Pontiac GTO, 7.222, 190.54.

David Barton was the FS/XX eliminator winner

Factory Stock Showdown — David Barton, Chevy Camaro, 7.889, 174.28 def. Stephen Bell, Camaro, 7.930, 173.92.

Posted by NHRA Communications

Photos by Dave Ostazewski

Link to the LMLCMedia event photo gallery from this event:  HERE