EVENT ESSENTIALS:     VisitMyrtleBeach.com 4-Wide Nationals April 14-17th, 2011   Concord, NC  

TOP FUEL Name ET MPH Career Win
Winner: Del Worsham 3.813 319.82 27th
R/UP: Larry Dixon 3.821 319.90  
Low ET: Del Worsham 3.780    
Top Speed: Tony Schumacher   326.71  
Bump Spot:   4.012    
FUNNY CAR Name ET MPH Career Win
Winner: Jack Beckman 4.120 309.63 10th
R/UP: Bob Tasca III 4.137 311.05  
Low ET: John Force 4.056    
Top Speed: John Force   315.19  
Bump Spot:   4.279    
PRO STOCK Name ET MPH Career Win
Winner: Greg Anderson 6.556 211.39 66th
R/UP: Greg Stanfield 6.559 211.10  
Low ET: Mike Edwards 6.546    
Top Speed: Vincent Nobile   211.96  
Bump Spot:   6.640    
LUCAS OIL        
Sportsman Class Winners: Name ET MPH  
Top Alcohol Dragster Monroe Guest 5.273 277.32  
Top Alcohol FC Frank Manzo 5.503 265.48 *200th win
Top Dragster Steve Cohen 6.794 199.61  
Top Sportsman Anthony Arcuni 7.011 196.82  
Super Stock Dan Fletcher 9.280 144.36  
Stock Robbie Shaw 10.18 116.79  
Super Comp Kyle Cultera 8.915 169.38  
Super Gas Scott Albrecht 9.914 162.06  


 NHRA 4-Wide Nationals – Version 2.0! 

Posted by: Michael Padian and Eric Lotz

Top Fuel driver Del Worsham nosed out Al-Anabi teammate Larry Dixon by four thousandths of a second to win the Second annual VisitMyrtleBeach.com NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway – April 17th.

The other winners at the fourth of 22 races in the 2011 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series season were Jack Beckman (Funny Car) and Greg Anderson (Pro Stock).

Team Al-Anabi (near 2 lanes) dominated Top Fuel at Concord NC

Worsham gave up four thousandths to Dixon at the starting line (.064 to .068), but he was eighth-thousandths quicker than Dixon (3.813 at 3.821) on the track for a net win-margin of .0048, or about half a foot.  “I told (team manager) Alan (Johnson) it would be only a matter of inches … and it was,” said Worsham, who won for the second time this season and opened up a 77-point lead over Dixon in the Top Fuel point standings.

The Funny Car final was also a close finish with Beckman (4.120, 309.63) crossing the stripe in his Aaron’s Dodge Charger just in front of Bob Tasca’s Motorcraft/Quick Lane Ford Shelby Mustang (4.137, 311.05) for his first win this year and 10th of his career.

Jack Beckman (near lane) won for the 10th time in his FC career

“Del talked about peaking too early. I’m not worried about that … I just want to peak,” said Beckman, who won for the first time in more than a year (Phoenix, 2010).

In Pro Stock, four-time and defending Series champion Anderson, from nearby Mooresville, N.C., chased down runner-up Greg Stanfield (6.559, 211.10) right at the stripe with a 6.556-second pass at 211.39 mph to win (by .005) for the first time this year.

North Carolina's own Greg Anderson scored in Pro Stock

“I love this race track and the best part of it is it’s home for me. Just a great, great day. I’m a very happy person,” said Anderson, who extended his NHRA-best streak of consecutive seasons with at least one win to 11.

Also of note for Anderson, who drives the Summit Racing Pontiac GXP, this was his 66th career win, pulling him within one of Tony Schumacher (67) for fifth place on NHRA’s all-time wins list and within three of Kenny Bernstein (69) for fourth place.


Manzo Hits NHRA Win Milestone!

Sportsman drag racing action at Concord was highlighted by Frank Manzo who scored his 200 NHRA Drag Racing event win.

Manzo’s victory was his 92nd NHRA national event win to go along with his 108 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Divisional wins. 

Frank Manzo roared to his 200th (!) career win in TAFC

The Morganville, N.J., resident and Al-Anabi Team racer qualified #1 (5.447 secs/low ET) 1 and marched through eliminations meeting up with John Bojec, Chardon, Ohio, in the final of Top Alcohol Funny Car.  Manzo clocked in at 5.503 seconds, 265.48 mph to Bojec’s 5.585, 259.16 for the win and the trophy.

Manzo also set top speed for the TAFC category roaring to an incredible 265.90 mph.

Manzo, the current and 14-time NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series National Champion, picked up his first NHRA Wally trophy in 1980 at the SPORTSnationals event in Bowling Green where he won in the Pro Comp class over Mike Kosky.  Three decades and 200 wins later he sits on top of the all time NHRA winner list and does not appear to be slowing down.  Only nine drivers have more than 100 NHRA wins with Manzo leading the list at 200 followed by John Force at 132.

2011 NHRA Full Throttle Series resumes in two weeks with the 24th annual O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals at Royal Raceway Park in Houston.

To view our event photo gallery click:  HERE                                            Photos by:  Dave DeAngelis