The reign of a Western Australia-based Top Doorslammer star racer comes to an end..

The final rounds of the 2021/2022 Australian Drag Racing Championship and the 2021/2022 Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series delivered no shortage of excitement at the Perth Motorplex across April 8/9 at the season-ending EGT ANDRA Grand Finals event.

Within the series’s marquee Top Doorslammer division — Daniel Gregorini claimed his maiden Australian title over ten-time ANDRA champion John Zappia.

Daniel Gregorini is the newly crowned and first time champion for ANDRA – Top Doorslammer – series racing.

Zappia was forced to officially concede victory to Gregorini – who also claimed the Crow Cams Australia Top Qualifier Award presented by Decoglaze Glass Splashbacks – when he carried the wheels off the start and scraped the wall in his first-round match-up against eventual event winner Stuart Moresby.

Prior to 2022 – John Zappia was a 10X career ANDRA TD champion.

Moresby defeated Mark Chapman for the event championship after also scoring a race win against Pino Priolo on his way to the final.

R/UP Chapman dispatched Marty Dack in round one before taking an upset victory over then new champion Gregorini — in the semi-final round.

Stuart Moresby won the ANDRA season ending event title racing his supercharged Studebaker.

Posted by Amanda Cobb-Salmon
Photos courtesy of Phil Luyer (High Octane Photos)