Zero Luck for ANDRA Season Finale

The unprecented levels of rain that occured in  Australia certainly took it’s toll on the ANDRA drag racing series this year.  Unfortunately that too including it’s most recent event, the Castrol Edge Winternationals scheduled for Eastern Australia’s Willowbank Raceway near Brisbane Queensland……

After rain halted all action during the originally scheduled dates for the season-ending event (June 10-13th), it was rescheduled for mid July, but that too suffered a similar fate.  Because qualifying had been severely limited,  ANDRA officials were forced to seed some Pro fields in an effort to complete the event finally on — July 17th

But unfortunately, the skies opened up again at Willowbank just prior to the finals round, and that forced an outright event cancellation after a total of 7 days of trying.

With the final event now declared the 2010/11 ANDRA season is a wrap and Australia’s national champions have been determined.

John Zappia in the ferocious Procomp Motorsport Monaro claimed his 4th straight Top Doorslammer Championship and Darren Morgan, driver of the AEG Powertools/Hungry Jack dragster claimed the Top fuel title.  Other season champions were Wayne Newby (Top Alcohol), Aaron Tremayne (Pro Stock), Chris Matheson (Top Bike) and Maurice Allen (Pro Stock Bike).

Darren Morgan is the 2010/11 ANDRA Top Fuel Champion

Castrol Edge Winternationals – Event Summary


ANDRA Series Name ET MPH  
Top Fuel        
Finalist: Damien Harris N/A* N/A*  
Finalist: Darren Morgan N/A* N/A*  
Low ET: Darren Morgan 4.726    
Top Speed: Darren Morgan   309.34  
Bump Spot:   N/A   (7 cars)
Top Alcohol        
Finalist: Steve Ham N/A* N/A*  
Finalist: Jamie Noonan N/A* N/A*  
Low ET: Jamie Noonan 5.518    
Top Speed: Steve Ham   255.38  
Bump Spot:   5.858   (14 cars)
Top Doorslammer        
Finalist: Peer Kapiris N/A*    
Finalist: Mark Belleri N/A*    
Low ET: Peter Kapiris 5.859    
Top Speed: Peter Kapiris   246.75  
Bump Spot:   6.277    
Top Bike        
Finalist: Chris Matheson N/A*    
Finalist: Troy McLean N/A*    
Low ET: Chris Matheson 6.570    
Top Speed: Mark Drew   215.65  
Bump Spot:   11.47   8-Bikes
Pro Stock Car        
Finalist: Bill Perdikaris N/A*    
Finalist: Jason Hedges N/A*    
Low ET: Lee Bektash 7.030    
Top Speed: Dave Newcombe   194.24  
Bump Spot:   7.233    
Pro Stock Bike        
Finalist: Andrew Babcock N/A*    
Finalist: Glenn Wooster N/A*    
Low ET: Andrew Babcock 7.315    
Top Speed: Lucky Ireland   180.74  
Bump Spot:   13.37    


Aaron Tremayne wrapped up the ANDRA Pro Stock title

John Zappia clinched his 4th straight ANDRA Top Doorslammer title

Chris Matheson was very dominating and very fast while winning the Top Bike Championship

Posted by:  Bruce Biegler

Photos Courtesy of: and