Inaugural Canadian Nitro Nationals – July 2-4th, 2010  Cayuga ON

Winner: Derek Hawker 6.326 224.66 1st
R/UP: Mike Stawicki NTR NSR (Broke)
Low ET: Mike Stawicki 5.803    
Top Speed: Mike Stawicki   255.15  
Bump Spot:   6.360    
Q32 Winner: Buddy Forrest 7.18 185.00  
Q32 R/UP: Rob Gray 7.35 196.00  


Hawker Wins in Upset – Stawicki Resets PMRA Speed Benchmarks

Driving his 1963 Corvette Pro Modified, PMRA class newcomer Derek Hawker of Corbyville, Ontario won the second round in the 2010 Pro Modified Racing Association, held at the Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park.

 Hawker was scheduled to meet up with Mike Stawicki of Medina, New York in the final round, but the G-Force Race Cars 1968 Firebird broke in the semi, giving the win to Hawker.

Derek Hawker has made both PMRA final rounds this season.

 The win was Hawker’s first in PMRA competition. The race was also Hawker’s second PMRA event, and the rookie and former Sportsman driver went to the final round at the first PMRA event in May earlier this year. He qualified seventh in the eight-car field.

“I really want to not only thank my family and crew, but Atchison Racing Engines,” he added. “They are second to none.”

Hawker had defeated defending PMRA series champion Bruce Boland in round one of competition but then also earned a bye into the final round when his scheduled opponent, Terry Brown of Caledonia also broke.

With his win, Hawker leads the PMRA Championship Award Series presented by Magnum Auto Parts and Patio Passport with 591, followed by Latino with 573. Third is Stawicki with 572 points, Brown is next with 553 points, and Andreacchi is fifth with 546.

During qualifying, veteran Pro Modified driver Mike Stawicki took the class to a new level when he took his G-Force Race Cars, Cynergy Composites bodied 1968 Firebird to the quickest and fastest runs in PMRA class history.

Mike Stawicki ran an awesome 5.80 at 255 mph!

Stawicki, of Medina, New York, ran a stunning series of sub-six-second laps all through qualifying – with a best ever record-setting 5.803-second, 255.15-mph to pace the eight-car field.

Those numbers shattered the previous PMRA quarter-mile records — set by Stawicki himself at Cayuga in September of 2008 (6.049 secs) and Mark Nielsen of Brantford, Ontario, (237.30 mph), also recorded in September 2008 at Cayuga.

(Bruce Biegler Photos)